November 2012 Ipsy (MyGlam) Bag

I love beauty products.  Okay, I’ll be real, I am a makeup junkie.  Although my normal drug of choice is MAC, I also love trying out new stuff…some of which exceeds even my beloved brand.  Each month I receive a Birchbox (for now, anyway, more on that later) and an Ipsy (formerly MyGlam) bag.  Most of the products that replace my MAC staples come from these Ipsy bags.  For $10 a month, you get an actual makeup bag or purse, 4/5 beauty products (some of them full sized!) and exclusive discounts for select makeup brands.  Last month, I discovered my new favorite eyeliner from Be a Bombshell and this month came with something just as awesome: a full size nail polish!  Oh yes.  What a win.  Let’s check out November’s Party Perfect! Ipsy bag.  Be sure to click on the pictures if you want to see them bigger!

You always know when your Ipsy bag shows up because it comes in this cute metallic pink mailer.  Love, love, love.

This is the bag that all your items arrive in.  It usually follows some sort of theme.  For November it was Party Perfect!  I don’t know what an ugly brown makeup pouch has to do with a party, but the items inside of it make up for the ugly purse.  Sometimes there are wristlets AKA a free purse that you can spill vodka on at the bar and not feel bad.  More wristlets, please, Ipsy!

You also always receive a card that lists the theme for the month and all the products that are in your bag.  On the back are the discount offers for the month.  There was a card for $20 off your first purchase at JustFab, as well.  I went to go check it out, and it seems to be mostly for shoes.  I wear a size 12, so this was pretty much worthless because no one makes cute shoes in a size 12.

Here are this month’s items, packaged and unpackaged: a full size nail polish from Nailtini in Millionaire, a full size brown eyeliner pencil from Starlet, a sample theBalm eyeshadow in Matt Batali (purple), a full size bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie lip gloss in Daredevil, and a full size (I think) clear eyebrow gel from Chella.  WIN.

Here’s a close up of the Starlet eyeliner pencil.  I’m not a fan of eyeliners in pencil form, especially now that I’m spoiled with the Be a Bombshell marker, and I’ve never used a brown eyeliner in my life, but this might be fun to play around with when I have job interviews to give my normal black liner a rest.

Next up is the polish.  I love, love, love, love when I get nail polish in these bags.  Millionaire by Nailtini has a ton of bar glitter (not really my glitter of choice, but it’s my mom’s favorite…I know, I gave my mom cool nails.  I am awesome.) and has a pretty gold color.  Perfect for parties!

Here’s Matt Batali by theBalm.  It’s a matte purple eyeshadow.  This will be fun to play with because almost every eyeshadow I own has shimmer in it.  Even the black ones.  See, this is how I get obsessed with new shit, these bags.  Ugh.  Good ugh.

Next up is the bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie lip gloss.  This is completely my color.  I can’t wait to put this sucker on my face.

Finally, we have the Chella brow gel.  It’s clear (thank god) and I’ve never really used one of these before, but I might as well give it a shot.  It’s certainly better than the ones with a tint (looking at you, Birchbox), and if I can’t run to go get my eyebrows threaded before I go out, this might help a little, right?

So that’s November’s Ipsy bag.  It’s definitely the best subscription sample service I use, and I highly recommend it.  Look at all those full sized products you get for ten bucks!  The nail polish alone is like…$13 by itself.  Ipsy wins at life.

(I pay for this with my own cash.  I’m not a paid sponsor for Ipsy or any of their product brands.  I just want to share the beauty product love, okay?)

Leave a Reply

