Bits and Pieces (AKA I used the word “try” in this post about six million times)

So much for that “more blogging” thing, huh?  Luckily, I’ve been doing better with other aspects of my life, including finding the old wordpress dashboard page (ugh the new one — especially the post page — is fucking terrible) and planning out my year.  Normally I’m not one to schedule stuff that happens so far in advance unless there’s a concert, but I have so many things to look forward to over the course of the next 11 months, it’s insane.  I’ll get to that in a minute, but I’ve also switched jobs for awhile (RETAIL ONLY ONCE A WEEK!) to work a “grown-up” job temporarily and I’m on a never-ending diet.  I want to look super cute by the end of October because…

I AM GOING ON A REAL VACATION!!!

Now, this is exciting for many reasons.  Even though I’ve spent the last several years traveling around the country, mostly, it’s been for concerts.  My friends and I didn’t stick around to look at where exactly we were, we’d just hop in the car once a show was over and drive to another show.  Well, it’s time to begin (stop singing Imagine Dragons in your heads, now) to take some time to stop, smell the roses, and not be rushing everywhere all the time.  So instead of taking 40 road trips this year, I’m taking one real vacation.  It’s long, too, I’ll be gone for over a week, and I’m actually going out of the country.  Sort of.  I’ve got a cabin booked on the Backstreet cruise to the Bahamas (I guess there is one concert involved, so sue me) and as soon as the boat docks, my friend and I are going to DISNEY WORLD.  I know.  I KNOW.  I haven’t been since I was six years old, and needless to say, it was time to go again.  I just wanted to go for a day to preview it for when I take my niece in a few years when she’s old enough to remember some of it, and my friend was like, “Oh, no, you can’t just go for one day!”  So, we’re making a full out vacation of it.  Disney on a budget.  It’s not gonna stop me from getting a pirate makeover or having dinner at the dinosaur restaurant, but she priced out something that’s actually affordable, especially since you can pay in installments.  Did you know that?  If you book through Disney you can.  Lord knows, I’ll never have $700 at one time, but now that I can pay over months, that shit is so getting booked.  Plus, we’ll be there through Halloween, which means I am going to get some magic back into my favorite holiday.  Needless to say, many future posts will be about planning this trip to end all trips.  I’ll put it in the subject, so that if it’s not your schtick, you can skip them.

Some other friends and I are also planning a trip to our local Comic-Con (where we’re dressing up and staying the whole time, whoop!) and in February I’m going to this The Walking Dead panel thingy…I bought VIP tickets because my friend wanted to go…but I had never seen the show.  Oops.  I’m currently in the middle of season two, and it’s pissing me off hardcore so I had to stop.  Without spoilers, let’s just say, I have never hated characters on television like I hate some of these.  I’m just praying for the fucking zombies to eat them.  Seriously.  Anyway, apparently these tickets were extremely hard to get, especially the VIP ones, so I’d better hurry up and catch up in between everything else that’s going on right now.

I’m trying to be more active on my twitter account (you can find links to it just about everywhere on this page) where I’m archiving my nail polish.  I’m attempting to try all of the ones I have in a year, which means every time I change my polish, I have to use multiple colors.  I’m cataloging them all right now, and I’m currently at 23 pages in this Word document…and I haven’t even started on my salon polish.  No more nail polish for me this year.  I need cash to buy a ton of Disney cupcakes.  Priorities, people.  So you can find that over there.  I’d post pictures but by the time my self-manicures look halfway decent cuticle wise, I have chips and stuff.  When I get more time to make my nails picture ready, I’ll have that stuff over there.  I’m also really into tweeting/live tweeting whatever tv show I’m watching at the moment (most recently it was The Lying Game) and I’ll be writing about those more on the blog.

I know I’ve been slacking on my Anime Mondays posts, but the next one will be up sometime on Monday (I know because I’m writing it right after this post, haha) and will have a crunchyroll guest pass up for grabs.  This new season is amazing already, especially since my beloved Chihayafuru is back.  I’ve already checked out a couple other new shows, as well, and it’s not going to be crap like seasons past.  I haven’t forgotten about my best of 2012 posts, either, and I want to talk more about music when I get a chance.  My new work schedule is completely different from what I’m used to, so I’m still getting adjusted to it, aka: my spare time is spent sleeping or doing something work-related.  It’s getting there, though!

So that’s what’s been happening in my 2013 so far.  What have you guys been up to?  Comment and let me know!  I’ve rambled enough, so now it’s time to put some posts in the queue so I don’t look like such a slacker.  I mean, I’ll always be a slacker, but it’s nice to at least try 😉

Leave a Reply

