Anime Mondays #8

No matter what the time stamp on this post says (does anyone know how I can change it to a normal time zone?), I’m actually getting this out on time.  Four for you, Glen Coco!  Unfortunately, my anime time this week has been highly decreased, but check out what I had the chance to watch, okay?

All images are from MAL and there are spoilers below!

Chihayafuru 2 – Episode 2Chihayafuru 2 Cover

I swear, I think this is the only show I will watch every week.  There’s usually one a season, but nothing will compare to my beloved Chihaya.  Lord, this girl loves her some karuta.  I’ve never seen anyone (real or character) with as much passion as she has for this game.  She not only wants to succeed for herself, she wants others to love the game as much as she does.  She wants the freaking cards to have friends, okay.  SHE WANTS THE CARDS TO HAVE FRIENDS.  I feel so bad for her that almost all the first years dropped out of the club, and though she’s trying so hard to get Sumire to love the game, rather than just Taichi…I hope Chihaya’s not fighting a losing battle here.  Yes, Sumire made some strides to actually play instead of staring at her crush for so long, but what’s gonna happen when it gets so hot in that karuta room that her makeup runs?  I don’t trust the new girl.  And as much as I want Chihaya to wise up and see that Taichi is the love of her life, I don’t think she’s going to.  She loves karuta more than any boy.  I can’t wait for next week.  But where the hell is Arata??  He needs to reappear in this anime ASAP.

Fairy Tale – Episodes 19-24Fairy Tale Title

I’ve had a disc of Gintama sitting next to my television since October from my anime rental service, but I can’t bring myself to watch it.  Instead, I quickly watch-and-return the other two discs on my plan and spend weeks pining over whether or not I want to read subtitles.  I’m lazy.  So sue me.  But, I did marathon these several episodes of Fairy Tale so I could send the DVD back.  Herein, we have the infamous Freaky Friday episode where everyone switches bodies.  Didn’t I just watch this?  So now, every anime has to have: 1) a hot spring vacation/beach episode, 2) a storyline where the power of friendship destroys an evil force, and 3) an episode where the characters all switch bodies.  I’ll take a bunch of 2’s and 3’s over 1’s any day.  Let’s be real, I’m not a fan of towels that like to slip off.  The rest of the disc was about Lucy’s dad trying to get her back into the family or something…very mafia-esque.  There was a lot of fighting.  It didn’t really hold my attention too much (obviously, because I can’t remember anything else that happened, except for an introduction/back story for a character I can’t recall ever seeing before…but he was probably there).  I moved the next volume up in my queue, but I’m hoping something else comes in before more of this show.

Burn Up Scramble – Episodes 5-8 Burn-Up Scramble Title

Ah, yet another watch-and-return, continuing something I got from my 30 random DVD box I bought from crunchyroll.  And…I wasn’t paying too much attention to this, either.  I was talking to my friend I’m going to Disney with about our trip and this was really just on for the background noise.  When the last volume comes, I’ll be sure to watch it properly so I can talk about it, but really…it’s girl cops who whine a lot and do stupid things.  I’m sure it’s not going to be Utena quality or anything.

 

And that’s it.  I know.  Welcome to my world of working two jobs.  In fact, I watched this on my only day off last week.  Glitterbots works hard for the money, so you’d better treat her right.

Leave a Reply

