Anime Mondays #9

Guys.  Guys, listen.  I haven’t even watched Chihayafuru 2 yet this week.  What is happening?  Is the world ending???  The short answer is no.  The long answer is possibly, but I don’t know where my head was at this weekend.  In the Disney clouds, probably.  Uh oh.  This can’t be good.  Right?  Anyway, I sampled a few (as in, three) shows this week, so let’s party.  It’s Monday, after all.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers below!

Blood-C Episode 1 Blood-C Title

Okay, so I really wanted to watch Toriko.  No, I’m not kidding.  Like, I searched high and low on my Funimation Roku channel for it.  I mean, I pay for this shit.  Toriko had just come out, and goddamn it, I wanted to watch it.  Could I find it?  No.  More on this later.  But after my fit of rage, I really didn’t want to watch anything with subtitles so I started this hot mess called Blood-C.  How do you pronounce this?  Blood C?  Blood Dash C?  I have no idea.  So I queued it up and it started out pretty average.  Cute girl with glasses is klutzy and works in a shrine.  Then she started singing some weirdo song to herself…this went on for at least two minutes.  I’m not kidding.  Like…there was no point in spending 120 seconds on this girl singing to herself about what a beautiful day it was while on her way to school.  Blatant filler aside, I like school shows, so I was digging it.  And then instead of going on a date with this boy who was clearly trying to pick her up, she went home and slaughtered some creature.  Blood and guts and everything.  What the shit???  It just came out of nowhere.  I was somewhat disturbed (but not Shadow Star Narutaru caliber disturbed), however, I merely just…didn’t watch another episode.  I don’t get it.  Am I going to get it?  I suppose if I watch enough of it.  Am I going to finish it?  Ask me later on in the week if my level of boredom is high.

Toriko – Episode 1 Toriko cover

So, like I said, I really wanted to watch this show.  I’ll get into why shortly, but I couldn’t find it anywhere.  Even freaking Yu Yu Hakusho which won’t stream on the Roku Funimation channel has a category where I can watch trailers and shit, but this anime was nowhere to be found.  (I checked again a few days later and found its listing with a couple clips, but fuck, I was mad when I couldn’t watch anything Toriko-related when I wanted to.)  You know where I found this beast?  Freaking Hulu Plus.  That’s right.  I had to suffer through commercials AND subtitles to check this out, but I had to do it.  Now…why did I have to?  Well, I saw an ad for it somewhere and it basically looked like Pokemon, except instead of fighting with the animals, people ate them.  YOU GOTTA CATCH ‘EM ALL.  That shit STILL hooks me in years and years and years later.  I swear, that’s when my OCD started because if I couldn’t get all 150 Pokemon, I didn’t want any.  Anyway.  So I watched it.  And honestly?  Kind of underwhelmed.  I know I’ll see more of it (especially if I can track down the dub on a stream somewhere), but I couldn’t wrap my head around this Gourmet Hunter bringing down a Garararararararagator (like a giant alligator) that would supposedly take 80+ men to take down.  I just didn’t get it.  AND THEN HE ATE THE WHOLE THING.  IS THIS REAL LIFE?!?!  Obviously not.  And it’s in the One Piece family, which does explain things.  But I want to catch them all 😦  I don’t want to just sit around and watch people eat.

Phoenix (Hi No Tori) – Episodes 6-9 Phoenix cover

You know when a title has a wait on it, so you move it to the top of your Netflix queue, thinking you’ll get it sometime this century, and then it pops up in your mailbox before anything else?  Bingo.  Phoenix is an anthology-type show and these are really hit or miss.  Well…obviously because the stories are different, but you know.  The first episode on this disc concluded an earlier plot line that took place in the future where this dude had a robotic brain or something but kept his human memories…I don’t know.  He fell in love with a robot he thought was human.  There was some bad guy stupid subplot and then he ended up dying but being reincarnated as a legit robot.  The thing tying all the Phoenix stories together is obviously the phoenix (duh) and the fact that certain people are just never going to die…along with this random dude with a giant nose.  Luckily, we don’t have to sit through ALL their lives, just a couple.  The next story was really interesting, though, and I wish we got more than one episode about this girl who killed a healer who was going to cure her father, who, if well, would make her life miserable.  But oh!  TIME LOOP!  She really got caught in a circle of fuck.  And I don’t want to spoil it too much because you should all take 20 minutes out of your lives and just watch episode 7, but I would definitely not want to be in her shoes.  The last story was one about some guy named (I shit you not) Dog Face and some werewolf-like gods and someone trying to convert people to Buddhism….yeah.  Dog Face.  I laughed out loud EVERY TIME.  It continues in the next volume, so clearly I’ll watch it just to have this old lady keep yelling “DOG FACE!!” over and over.  I’m so easily amused.

Short, sweet and to the point, kids.  I’ll be back next week with more half-assed summaries/reviews, but for now, please tell me not to drop $50+ in the Funi sale over at RightStuf.  Do I need Baka and Test Season 2?  Don’t answer that.

Leave a Reply

