Awesome/Not So Much #1

In attempt to write more crap than your a-ver-age bear, I present to you my new weekly column (cause, oops, this is my very own magazine) where I talk about stuff I think is awesome and stuff that I think is not so much.  You know.  With the awesome.  Like I don’t shove enough of my opinions down people’s throats via the internet.  If you try something new and like it, let me know!  If you think I’m an asshole, well, you’re probably right.

Five Awesome Things for the Week of March 5, 2013!

1.  Mountain Dew Kickstart

Sidenote: when did they start abbreviating the word “mountain?”  It’s like…Mtn Dew now.  Seriously?  Is “mountain” that hard of a word to spell?  Anyway, this stuff is the shit.  I hate coffee, and I feel like a real tool for drinking Sugar Free Rockstar in the morning.  This is at least marketed as a coffee replacement (even though it’ll never work), rather than an energy drink.  Plus, the red one tastes like red Amp, so I also won’t have to feel like a tool for drinking Amp in the morning, either.  And it works.  No foolin’.  If this stuff mixes with vodka, this could be one awesome party drink.  I haven’t tried the orange one yet, but don’t worry, I will.

2.  The fact that I remembered to cancel my Spotify Premium subscription.

Seriously.  I’ve been trying to do it for the past three months.  It’s not like it’s a bad service, I just don’t really use it all that much anymore.  My phone won’t connect to the ipod cord in my car, and it’s like, well…I guess I’ll just plug my regular ipod in.  It’s not like I don’t have the songs on there already.  I just had a couple great Spotify playlists (because I am too lazy to make Itunes ones) and wanted to listen to them but then I just had to stream them through my phone’s speakers in my car and….ugh.  Not worth it.

3.  Wreck-It Ralph Blu-Ray

Yeah, as soon as the UPS man comes today in this snowstorm, I’m watching this movie at least twice in a row, or until “Face Off” comes on.  I have no shame.  This movie is the greatest thing in existence right now and/or ever.

4.  That “Call Me Maybe/Head Like a Hole” Mash-Up

Pretty much what I want my musical career to be like.  Haven’t heard it?  You will thank me.

5.  Friday Night

Going to see my favorite bar band!  And probably getting some more fodder for my “Dumb Things…” series.  Because, you know, boys are never smart when there’s alcohol involved.

Five Not So Awesome Things for the Week of March 5, 2013!  …:(

1.  Tweetdeck is no more.

Yeah, did you heard this noise?  They’re taking away my precious Tweetdeck because of some API shenanigans.  Um…I never use the website.  I pretty much only use apps and Tweetdeck.  So much less tweeting going on now.  This sucks.

2.  Facebook has noises.

Speaking of hearing things….last night when I was innocently updating my status on an event, I heard this bleep bloop ping noise.  Now, I had no music on.  The tv wasn’t on.  What the shit?  Facebook makes a noise now when you get a notification.  How freaking annoying.  Luckily, it’s pretty easy to turn them off, but if I wanted to hear things, I’d have Itunes going or something.  Don’t make noise just to scare the shit out of me, Facebook.

3.  The Harlem Shake

Have you listened to this piece of crap?  Who decided it should be popular?  Who decided there should be a million stupid viral videos concerning it?  I heard about a minute of it for the first time this morning…never again.

4.  My OCD is forcing me to watch season one of “Full House.”

I just want to watch the Disney World episode where the Tanners go to the Grand Floridian and DJ sees Steve everywhere and Uncle Jesse sings to Becky from the lobby and Michelle acts like a brat (wait, that’s every episode…) and it’s in season six.  So I have to sit here and watch six seasons of the damned show before I can watch the two episodes I want.  I have to go in order.  If I don’t, I’ll feel all off.  Don’t judge.  Just accept it.  PS: season one of anything is almost always the worst season.  This definitely applies here.

5.  Katy Perry is still on the radio.

This will be my #5 until all her songs disappear from the two pop stations I listen to on my pre-sets.  All her “songs” sound exactly the same.  They also all sound like Ke$ha songs.  I can’t get behind that, guys, I just can’t.  Please make it stop.  Please???  Anyone?  Bueller??

What’s awesome or not so much for you this week?  Click on the little cartoon balloon and let me know!

Leave a Reply

