Anime Mondays #17

Hello friends, neighbors and followers, it’s Monday, so you know what time it is.  It’s also that time of the month (no, not like THAT, ugh) where the post comes with a surprise inside, so you know what to do.  If you don’t…just read the post, get down to the bottom, and it will suddenly come to you.  There’s that lightbulb above your head.  I see it now!

All images are from MALand there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch – Episode 24 Mermaid Melody Cover

Last week I mentioned that I ran out of episodes on my external for this, so in order to watch any more of them, I have to sift through a bunch of clips with terrible quality on veoh.  It’s not the most pleasant of experiences, so I only ended up watching one episode this week.  Fortunately, I found a different magical girl show to fill in for this one to give me time to find the rest of the series.  No plot was to be had in episode 24.  It’s still ungodly filler.  I’m about halfway through, and there were still only three episodes with plot.  Sometimes, the filler…it is just too much for my heart to take.  Sob, sob.  Whine, whine.  Next show.

 

Mawaru Penguindrum – Episodes 13-24 (Completed!) Penguindrum Cover

I’ve already told you about my love affair with this show.  Hell, I’ve even written a review/discussion for it (just scroll down to the previous post if you missed it, but beware, it’s full of spoilers).  I watched 12 episodes in one day.  That’s like…unheard of for me because my attention span is non-existant.  It’s been a week, and I already want to spend the rest of my day re-watching the whole thing.  And, and…did you hear there’s a new project by the creators in the works?  It’s called Penguinbear.  I have no idea what it is, but if it’s a second series of Penguindrum, I will be over the moon.  Everyone, please go watch this show.  It’s a little fucked up, but you won’t be disappointed.  I mean, if you can sit through 100+ episodes of Bleach or something, you can watch 24 episodes of one of the most amazing anime to ever exist.  Clearly, I ranked it 10/10.  Were you expecting anything different?

 

Phoenix (Hi no Tori) Episodes 10-13 (Completed!) Phoenix cover

Well, I’d had this DVD sitting here from Netflix since January, and I really wanted to send it back, so I made this my bedtime show.  (Yes, my Gintama rental is still by my Blu-Ray player since October.  Don’t judge me.  That is now my bedtime show.)  I literally kept falling asleep through this show.  I couldn’t help it.  When I finally stayed awake through the last couple episodes, I understood why; there is almost no dialogue and a ton of classical music.  That shit puts me right to sleep.  I’m sorry to say that I really disliked Phoenix.  The arcs that were the most interesting were the shortest and really needed more episodes, while they dragged out that Dog Face arc for two freaking discs.  The last one took place in the future, where the world was ending, except this dude got saved by a scientist (aka guy with the big nose) and the phoenix.  He finds a coffin that is set to open in 5000 years with a woman inside of it, so he literally spends 5000 years using the scientist’s research to try and create life for her to see when the coffin opens…but when the timer goes off, she’s clearly still dead and a mummy.  The entire last episode is filled with the end of the world and then the beginning of the world, and the dude realizes that the only reason he stayed alive for billions of years was to be able to start the new world after the end of the old one, so he could see creation and re-birth.  Basically, it’s a bunch of symbolic bullshit where the minutes would have been better used giving us another episode of that girl who was stuck in the time loop.  I ranked this 4/10, though I’m sure lots of people will disagree with me.  I’m a big girl.  I can take it.

Karneval – Episode 1 Karneval Title

I told you I was going to watch this show!  Unfortunately, it’s on the Funimation Roku Channel with its tiny, white subtitles.  I muscled through it, though, and I’m…well, I don’t know how I feel.  I thought it was going to be about a carnival, or even a circus, but it’s not.  The Circus is a code name for this defense organization.  Lame.  However, the characters are really pretty.  Yeah, I’m one of those suckers for beautifully drawn people.  Plus, it’s kind of fucked up.  I mean, in the first ten minutes, this woman tries to steal the innocence away from this boy and then turns into some spider-creature who goes on a rampage.  To contradict this entirely, the ending theme is extremely cute and bouncy and there are bright colors everywhere.  Oh, Karneval.  I don’t know quite how I feel about you, yet, but I’ll stick with it.

Toriko – Episodes 2-3 Toriko cover

It’s been awhile, my good friend, hasn’t it?  I’m still in love with your theme song.  And, even though, I had the random number generator choose you, I did enjoy the two episodes I got to see before I moved on to something else.  Toriko goes on the hunt for some rainbow fruit and a comes-out-once-every-ten-years whale in this selection.  Actually, the third episode continues into the fourth, but I haven’t gotten that far yet.  We are introduced to more characters, including an incredibly annoying news reporter who follows Toriko around every chance she gets and one of the other kings who comes with to help him find this whale.  I’m not as addicted to this as I am to One Piece, but then again, I haven’t watched that in awhile, either.  These shonen shows…apparently I can only take them in small doses.  Go figure.

Pretty Cure (Futari Wa Precure) – Episodes 15-18 Pretty Cure Cover

See, I told you I found another magical girl show to fulfill my filler quotient for the week.  And really, I watched as many episodes as I did because I found a youtube channel that has all the English dubbed episodes that never made their way over to the US.  Huzzah!  No more shitty subtitles where the timing is off!  I will take that they renamed the main characters Natalie and Hannah instead of Nagisa and Honoka.  After all, I did watch 60+ episodes of Sailor Moon where Usagi was named Serena, okay.  I’ll even take that they renamed the love interest Fergie…how…fergalicious.  Anyway, for those of you not in the crappy magical girl show know, Pretty Cure has about six million sequels and movies, it’s so popular.  This first series is about these two girls who have absolutely nothing in common other than they go to the same school and both got these little Tamagotchi pets dropped on them that come to life and allow them to turn into magical girls who fight The Dark Zone.  They have to swipe cards through the readers to feed these pets and transform, which sounds like a horrible merchandise ploy to me, but, hey, whatever works.  The Dark Zone is after these things called Prism Stones, which I think are trapped in the little Tamagotchi cases, but don’t quote me on that.  So, they basically just cause trouble, turning people into monsters to try and lure Pretty Cure out so they can steal them.  The downfall of these magical girls is that they have to do everything together: transform, fight, you name it.  Shit, their only worthwhile attack has to be performed with them holding hands.  I know it’s all about the power of friendship, but what happens if Honoka is in cram school or something and Nagisa gets bitched slapped by a Zakenna and gets her stone swiped?  Everyone is fucked.  This show also has a lot of filler, but it’s so much easier to take in dub form.  Canada gets everything cool.  First Degrassi and now this.

RDG: Red Data Girl – Episode 1 Red Data Girl Cover

Ah, yes, here comes the part of the week where I was trolling around the Funimation Roku Channel looking for something to watch, even if it had tiny subtitles.  This was new, so I went for it.  Honestly, I never would have picked this show out to watch on my own, and it’s looking to be another surprise favorite like my beloved Chihayafuru (which, yes, I will catch up with before the end of the month…just not this week coming up because I’ll be out of town).  It starts off with this weird girl cutting her hair to give herself bangs.  Pretty random, right?  Like, who gives a shit?  Well, it turns out everybody gives a shit because this girl is a shrine maiden or something, and her hair is a source of her power.  And apparently, cutting herself some bangs throws everything out of whack.  See, she’s not just a shrine maiden, she is powerful enough to have people actually born to serve her, only she doesn’t know it.  She just thinks she’s a freak with only two friends who fucks up every computer she touches.  Okay then.  But after she cuts her bangs, she turns into this computer pro who can get her dad on Skype, tell him she’s not going to a high school in Tokyo like he wants her to, and then crashes every single computer in the computer lab.  What the hell, dude…add to this that her guardian is her dad’s best friend and his son is being forced to transfer into her school to become her servant (and I’m pretty sure his dad beats that into him, holy christ), and it’s all sorts of fucked up.  And you all know how much I like my fucked up anime.  I can’t wait to continue this.

The Devil Is a Part-Timer (Hataraku Maou-Sama!) – Episode 1 The Devil is a Part Timer Cover

I had absolutely no idea what I was getting myself into when I started this anime.  It was another new thing from the Funimation Channel, so I just clicked on it.  At first, it started off like some random shonen fantasy show that I am prone to hating.  There was a gigantic fight between demons and humans and the demons escaped to Earth to save themselves.  Then, it took an entirely different turn.  Satan and Alciel had to learn how to adapt to an entirely new environment…and it turned into a comedy.  Not that it’s a bad thing, but you’d think that the ruler of the freaking underworld would not be so excited by getting a job at McDonald’s and trying to take over Earth by literally starting from the lowest rung of a customer service job and working his way up.  He thinks that selling the largest amount of black pepper french fries will somehow boost his social status.  Um…okay.  It kind of reminds me of Working!, which I started out liking — not enough to finish it, of course — that turned into a hot mess by the end.  Sadly, Hataraku Maou-Sama! turned into a hot mess by the end of the first episode.  I’ll give it another shot when I’m bored, but it’s not something I’m chomping at the bit to see every week.

The World God Only Knows – Episode 7 The World God Only Knows Cover

There’s not really much to say about this episode except that it ends the Kanon arc (FINALLY!), and that the next episode is filler.  I watched half of it and fell asleep.  Whoops.  Oh, and I’m still in love with the theme song.  So much that I have the tv version memorized…..I am a loser.  But I still want to start that anime music band.

 

 

Btooom! – Episodes 1-8 Btooom! Cover

Uh oh.  Looks like I found another anime I liked enough to marathon the shit out of.  In fact, I finished it in the middle of writing this post, so look for a complete review/discussion coming tomorrow.  They say Btooom! is like The Hunger Games.  And well, it is, but it isn’t.  It’s got a lot of bombs.  It’s got a lot more fanservice.  And it’s got a female protagonist that I really want to punch in the face.  I’d say it’s more like Sword Art Online mixed with Battle Royale, if you want to know the truth.  At least it’s not like Pokemon…except it is.  Because instead of trying to catch ’em all, you only need eight.  Btooom! is about this group of people who get kidnapped and thrown onto an island with tracking chips implanted in their hands and a fanny pack full of bombs who need to collect seven other chips by killing each other.  It’s based on a video game of the same name, and shocker, our male protagonist is the highest ranked Japanese player.  I really wanted to love this, and yes, I watched the shit out of it until I literally passed out, but…but…you will just have to wait and see.  Please note, I love everything it ripped off, Survivor included.  In theory, it should be one of my favorite anime.  But, in theory communism works, and we all know how that turned out.

Holy hell, I watched a lot of anime this week.  I guess that’s what happens when all you can do for a whole week is sit around waiting on phone calls, which is basically…what I did.  Not good phone calls, either, but this is not a post about my life.  It’s a post about distractions from it.  And here’s my present to you: a free crunchyroll guest pass!

5MJL59MXZM3

Enjoy it!  Next week I may not have a post up because I’ll be out of town, but I’ll try my best if I watch anything besides the end of Btooom!….which I already saw.  Spoiler?

Leave a Reply

