Anime Mondays #18

Sorry I was absent last week, kids.  I hadn’t watched much at all, and then I was out of town at a wedding.  Ugh, I love weddings.  I was so proud of myself that I barely cried.  Glitterbots wears her heart on her sleeve, yo.  Let’s keep it on the DL.  Anyway, before I kick this off, I have some super sad news: the new Sailor Moon anime has been delayed, probably until 2014.  My heart.  It breaks. 😦  Hopefully, it could come a little sooner, but it definitely won’t be summer like projected.  At least it gives me a little more time to finish the original series…can I just skip past the Chibi-usa episodes?  Please???

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Btooom! – Episodes 9-12 Btooom! Cover(Finished!)

Since I already did a full review/discussion on this, it’s pretty obvious that I completed this in the same weekend I watched it.  Want to know more of my thoughts?  Check out the post right below this one.  I guess my final thoughts were that I loved the concept, I just wanted more from it.  I know that’s a really cheap thing to say about a twelve episode anime, but whether or not there is going to be a second season, it definitely could have used a more cohesive ending.  It’s for that crap ending alone that I ranked it 7/10.  It could have been a solid 8, but since everyone is still on the goddamned island, it wasn’t going to happen.

Is This a Zombie? – Episode 4 Is This a Zombie? Cover

This episode got watched thanks to another round of playing Random-e.  And let me tell you, I could only sit through the one.  Even if it was about the necromancer’s back story (which usually I love, back stories, not necromancers), I was just…bored.  It provided some nice, mindless entertainment, but that’s about it.  On the plus side, I finally realized that this theme song was the one I couldn’t pick out that is on the CD I play in my car.  Don’t judge me.

Sgt. Frog – Episode 66Sgt. Frog Cover

Time for a little back story of my own now: I started watching this when Funimation started releasing the DVDs, and I devoured the first two seasons.  Holy crap, I thought the dub was hysterical.  I mean, I would post the lines on twitter, even though they were completely out of context because I just could not stop laughing.  But then, they said they weren’t going to dub anymore of it, and I was like…well, fuck it, this series is super long, impossible to track down, and probably not as funny in Japanese.  BUT THEY RELEASED SEASON 3!  And instead of immediately rushing to rent it, I…promptly forgot about it.  Whoops.  Luckily, the newest batch is up on Netflix Instant, so when it popped up Random-e style, I queued up the next episode I had to watch.  I heard rumors that in this new batch of episodes, the quality of the dub script had gone down…and I’m sad to say that those rumors are true.  The single episode I watched was in no way as funny as previous shows.  Now, maybe the episode just wasn’t that funny (it was about the kids getting kidnapped by an alien television station and the ninja girl going shopping with Natsume), but I was just bored.  Needs more Tamama.  That tiny frog can do no wrong.

Gintama – Episodes 21-26 Gintama Cover

No, your eyes are not deceiving you.  I really did watch Gintama.  Not only did I watch it, but I watched the entire disc I had of it.  You know…the one I’ve kept from Rent Anime since October.  (If you were waiting for Disc 2 of Collection 2, I truly apologize…but it should be back in their system in about a week.)  Please pat me on the back.  Somebody.  Because I watched it, destroyed it, AND sat through a recap episode.  Well…sort of.  They were fighting over a goddamned hot pot.  Also, I got to a new opening and a new ending, and I am completely saddened to see one of my favorite anime endings of all time get thrown to the vault.  Let’s watch it again, shall we?

Okay, so that’s not the real ending, but it is the song, which is all that matters anyway.  In this group of episodes, we are introduced to that annoying ninja girl with glasses and my new favorite character, one of Gin’s friends who is constantly drunk and pilots spaceships.  I don’t even know if more collections of this were released on DVD, but I need a break.  It took seven months for me to watch this and I RENTED it, so that’s saying something.  I mean, it’s funny, but I just don’t want to watch more than one episode at a time…which is bad when there are six episodes crammed onto a disc.  Sorry, Gintama, I’ll pick you up again in…another seven months.

Yu Yu Hakusho – Episodes 23-28 Yu Yu Hakusho Title

Finally, the horrible ‘let’s rescue the Ice Guy’s kidnapped sister’ arc is over…and guess what?  He doesn’t even tell her he’s her brother!  The fuck?  That was such a waste of episodes.  However, it does set up something that I will be looking forward to: TOURNAMENT FIGHTING!  Yeah, I am a sucker for long, drawn out, melodramatic battles, what can I say?  It’s why I like the original Dragon Ball.  Anyway, the gang has to fight in some kind of “Dark Tournament” and right now the ginger dude is going up against some little kid with yo-yos.  I’m sure there will be no plot and they will win, but I don’t care because it’s TOURNAMENT FIGHTING!  Most of it will take place on the season 2 set.  You’re welcome.

Chihayafuru 2 – Episodes 11-15 Chihayafuru 2 Cover

This has to be like the WTF? post of the year, right?  Yes, I have officially caught up with Chihayafuru 2 (minus the recap episode from this week, ugh I HATE recap episodes).  It definitely benefited me to watch a huge chunk of episodes.  It prevented the episodes from going too slowly, which, honestly, is what’s starting to happen.  This tournament is just going on FOREVER.  I don’t even know if they are going to have time to finish the individual tournament during this season, and while that might be good because it could mean we might get a third season full of Chihaya goodness, it also might mean that the anime will end unfinished because I’m not sure if it’s doing so well ratings-wise in Japan.  Anyway, we are at the final round now.  The team is about to play the best in Japan, and they put a filler episode right before a recap episode.  It’s like they are just trying to kill me on the inside.  Especially since ARATA IS THERE AND CAN’T GO WATCH HIS FRIENDS PLAY, UGH.  I really sound like I skipped a bunch of episodes, but I didn’t, since most of them fleshed out back stories of the team’s competitors…who cares.  Seriously, who. cares.  It’s a nice touch and all, but I want to see some karuta and I want to see Taichi eat cake off Chihaya’s fork, okay, bye.  I’ll be back with more of this in a month or so because watching this in marathon form is completely the way to go.

Cowboy Bebop – Episodes 1-2 Cowboy Bebop Cover

That’s right.  I’m doing it.  I’m watching the most over-hyped anime of all time.  Now, though I’ve only seen the first two episodes, I can make some assumptions on why tons of people love this show.  #1: it’s very violent.  When push comes to shove, dudes like their anime full of blood and guns, and Cowboy Bebop has plenty of them.  #2: it’s episodic…so far.  That’s not really my cup of tea, but you can watch any episode in any order, which makes it great for the Toonami crowd.  #3: it takes place in space…sort of.  I hate space.  But I’ll continue to watch this.  I already know this show is not going to be my cup of tea, but I want to see if it can buck the bias I have for its genre and if I’ll end up enjoying it.  PS: Bebop is the name of the spaceship…and there are no cowboys, yet.  At least it’s not a western.  That’s the only thing I hate more than sci-fi.

And that’s a wrap for this week!  I’m at a stalemate with anime I want to watch lately, so if you know of something that I should pick up, please let me know!  My box set of Rose of Versailles won’t come until Princess Knight comes out, so I will really have nothing new until then unless Right Stuf is having an awesome sale, which I can never turn down.  It’ll give me a chance to go through some of my massive backlog but like…nothing looks interesting.  First world problems.

Leave a Reply

