Anime Mondays #19

This week has pretty slim pickings when it comes to the anime I’ve seen.  Honestly, I’ve spent most of the week working, running around like a chicken with my head cut off and watching Hemlock Grove on Netflix.  I’ll talk more about it later, but I’m up to episode 10, and I’m fairly sure I figured out the entire plot in episode 4, and now I’m just waiting for it to pan out.  This series is so goddamned slow and full of continuity errors it’s ridiculous…but Declan from Degrassi is in it, and he’s either half-naked or wearing a leather jacket for most of the show, so it’s safe to say that I’m plowing through it.  God, my shame is never-ending.  Anyway.  That’s for another post.  For now, it’s Monday.

All images below are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Romeo x Juliet – Episode 16 Romeo x Juliet cover

Thanks to another round of Random-e, I ended up watching an episode of this gem.  What’s to say about Romeo x Juliet?  Unless there’s a gigantic plot twist, everyone knows how this one is going to end up.  Juliet is some kind of super hero and pretty bad ass, so that’s a nice addition.  And I have to say that the Japanese version of Josh Groban’s “You Raise Me Up” as the opening theme makes me cry every time.  No shit, every. time.  The character designs here are odd, though.  And, dear lord, how the plot is slow.  I had forgotten how slow-moving the show was because I hadn’t seen any of it in a year, at least…and I own it.  This episode was about Hermione (no, not from Harry Potter, sadly) trying to find Romeo and beat down Juliet in the process because she was trying to get all up on her man~  However, instead of a Springer-style smackdown, Juliet befriends Hermione, and after some threats of violence that never pan out, all is forgiven and the bitch backs down to give the two star-crossed lovers their space.  Um…what?  I have to finish this off.  I just have to.  I’m so close.  It’s just…so dull.

A Certain Magical Index – Episode 2 A Certain Magical Index Cover

To be fair, I can’t remember if I randomly picked this out or chose to watch it.  I want to start watching A Certain Scientific Railgun because the preview looked interesting, but it’s a spin-off of Magical Index, and you know how my OCD is.  I’m going to have to watch them all in order.  I watched the first episode of this a long time ago, and, let’s be real, the fact that Monica Rial voiced the main character made me turn it off.  Her voice just grates.  I’m sorry.  I know tons of people worship the ground she walks on, but I just can’t deal with it.  So, I gave it another shot, and luckily, Index is unconscious and, therefore, not speaking for most of this episode, which was a plus.  I forget how this plot goes.  I think (but don’t quote me on this) that this city is all about people with psychic powers who go to school to develop them, but nobody has magic.  Like, it’s forbidden or something.  I may possibly be mixing this in with the plot of Aria the Scarlet Ammo, but I marathoned the hell out of that one because I was drawn in.  Here, once again…not so much.  There was a giant fight between the main dude and some magician who wants to get all up inside Index’s brain because she has all of the magic books in the universe locked in her photographic memory, but that was about it.  And the main dude has a shitty power; all he can do is defend against magic with one of his hands.  I really need a show to watch that I can get into.  Why do I keep randomly picking crap?

GetBackers – Episodes 11-13 GetBackers Cover

My anime rental service keeps sending me this, so I keep feeling compelled to watch it so I can send it back…just to get another disc of GetBackers.  This shit really is a vicious cycle, people.  Now, they’re on some mystery case where they have to team up with the villains they fought against in previous episodes.  A good concept, yes, but I want to see where this takes us.  I mean, any excuse I get to see Dr. Jackal is a pretty good one, but to have this “super recovery team” going through the Limitless Fortress to try to retrieve a mystery object is like plot hole central.  Plus, they have to fight all these minions of a dude named Makubex who is like…king of The Island of Misfit Toys or something.  He’s a real dick, as are his subsidiaries, and this arc is taking way too long.  I mean, I have two episodes left to go on this disc, and I think it’s going to take another DVD for it to finish.  I’m making headway on this trainwreck of a series, though.  Go me?

Doki Doki School Hours – Episodes 1-4 Doki Doki School Hours Cover

Wow, thanks, Netflix, for sending me this piece of crap.  I don’t know why I put it in my queue, but I put it at the top because it had a ridiculous wait time…but they sent it to me anyway.  Doki Doki School Hours is a cross between Pani Poni Dash, Hidamari Sketch, and Lucky Star.  Except, here’s the catch: Lucky Star is funny.  This is just….ugh.  The teacher of this class of misfits is about four feet tall, but really 27 years old.  Everyone, of course, thinks she is “soooo cute” and rips on her because she’s tiny.  It’s done in a sketch format, but tries to have some form of continuity.  The best part of the show is the dude who’s so vain he comes to school most days in drag.  It’s really boring and part of that Geneon series where they licensed everything they could come across in the early 2000’s.  I hated the first episode of Lucky Star, but that slowly grew on me…I’m not expecting the same for this one.  At least I can mail it back now.

Kobato. – Episode 13 Kobato. Cover

Firstly, why does this anime have a random period in the title?  And why do all the episode titles start with an ellipsis?  Grammatical weirdness aside, I like this show a lot.  I flipped it on because of the random number generator again, but opening my part 2 DVD set just reminded me of what a beautiful show this is.  Kobato. is from CLAMP, which means it’s going to be pretty as hell.  While, sometimes, CLAMP shows can be confusing or ridiculous as fuck (here’s looking at you X and xxxHolic), Kobato. has a pretty simple premise.  In order for our main character to have her wish granted, she has to mend broken hearts and collect little tokens from each act in a jar.  She wishes to go to “the place I want to go to,” and right now, we don’t know where the hell that is.  Yes, this show is episodic and can be filler at times, but it breaks my heart.  I think I’ve cried every single episode because it’s just so heart warming.  I’m waiting for the CLAMP twist to come, you know, the one that will turn everything on its ass and screw up what the show has been working towards all season in one or two episodes.  It hasn’t come yet, though, and I’m content to just enjoy the ride…even if this stop on the train included singing to a tree.  Hey, they went there.

That’s it for this time, kids.  I’m going to see Paramore this week, so if my seats don’t suck, check out my tumblr and youtube channel for pictures and video.  And just wait until I finish Hemlock Grove aka, The Show Where Eli Roth Tries Too Hard to Rip Off Twin Peaks.  JUST WAIT.

Leave a Reply

