Anime Mondays #28

You guys.  In two weeks, it’s Comicon.  I am stupid excited.  No, it’s not the good San Diego one, but a ton of great guests will be there and I’ll get to go fandom shopping, which is clearly the main reason I go.  If I can’t get some new Sailor Moon accessories, then the weekend might be a failure.  But, I know I’ll come home with some junk.  That’s just how I roll.  Anyway, I watched some quality stuff over the past two weeks.  Let’s get on it.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers below up to the episodes listed!

Attack on Titan – Episodes 14-16 Attack on Titan Cover

I have to get this out of the way first: the new opening is terrible.  The visuals are very striking, but the song sucks.  I love, love, loved the first Attack on Titan opening because the song was freaking perfect.  It matched the animation and it got me pumped up to watch the brand new episodes.  This new one…not so much.  In fact, not at ALL.  If it wasn’t a pain in the ass to fast forward on Crunchyroll, I’d skip it every time.  The new ending has a better song, but it’s nothing compared to the first one.  Downgrade.  The second arc of this show appears to be a downgrade, as well.  I skipped the recap episode because they drive me insane, but these first few of the new arc…filler.  It’s just exposition and back story, and the main point of the entire thing was to show which characters were going into the Survey Corps and which weren’t…and really, that could have been glossed over in two minutes to get to some action.  Or plot.  Or character development.  Or anything at all besides what we got.  Personally, I don’t like the senior Survey Corps members at all.  I wasn’t even interested in episode 15, but, thankfully, Armin et. all come back in episode 16.  I don’t know how they’re going to have a cohesive ending with nine episodes to go.  I’m getting ready to be disappointed.

GetBackers – Episodes 34-35 GetBackers Cover

Honestly…it’s been so long since I watched these that I don’t remember anything about the episodes in question.  I know I watched them…I just don’t know what happened, and I haven’t gotten a new disc from my rental service yet, so I can’t recap myself.  I’m stupid lame, I know.

 

 

 

 

K-On!! – Episodes 1-4 K-on!! Cover

Ah, yes, I have started the second season of K-On!.  My expectations were pretty high going into this.  After all, it had such a huge debut in Japan, so I was really hoping that a band anime would actually focus more on the band in its second season…….yeah…no.  I’m four episodes in, and it’s actually LESS about the music and the band than the first season, which I didn’t think was possible.  They spent an entire episode failing to find new members for their club and buying a turtle.  Then, there are two about a class trip.  A class trip.  Who cares??  I want them to play music, get better, debut, do something…but it’s just more slice of life bullshit.  I’m about to get into Aria the Natural-style hatred here.  Something needs to happen.  Anything.  God.  Some semblance of a plot.  Please.  Please, please, please.  Or at least they need to have some good insert songs.  The opening is annoying, and the ending is passable but it’s crap compared to the first ending, which was brilliant.  Once again, disappointed.

Watamote – Episodes 2-3 Watamote Cover

I don’t know how I feel about this show.  At first I thought it was awkwardly funny, like in a bus crash sort of way.  Now that I’ve seen a few more episodes, Tomoko is kind of a bitch.  Maybe the reason she’s not popular isn’t because she has some kind of irrational fear of interacting with people, but that she doesn’t take and appreciate the chances she gets.  I know I’m waxing way philosophical on a comedy anime, but I need to know a motivation for why characters act the way they do, or at least why they don’t feel a need to change their situation, but staying home and faking sick just so she won’t have to play basketball really isn’t helping her social status any.  I mean, all she had to do was ask to join the foursome’s team.  And in episode 2, she was such a bitch at the end to her only friend because Tomoko found out the other girl had a boyfriend.  I call bullshit.

Sunday Without God – Episode 2 Sunday Without God Cover

After watching the second episode of this show, I wasn’t any more impressed than I was with the first.  The ongoing story is just a bunch of incoherent mush, and I can’t, for the life of me, understand the character motivations/interactions.  Can someone help me?  I know a LOT of people are praising this show to the heavens, but I just don’t get it.  The characters aren’t compelling at all, the plot is inconsistent, and there is too much exposition that goes nowhere.  This is definitely getting put on pause for the rest of the season.

 

 

Princess Knight – Episode 1 Princess Knight Cover

My copy of this set shipped ridiculously early from Right Stuf, and you know when I talked about how I wasn’t really into Kimba the White Lion, and I was afraid that this would be the same way?  My thoughts are pretty accurate.  While I love that Nozomi is licensing all this stuff in a gender-bender genre, the old art style is killing me here.  Also, the quality of the episodes is extremely inconsistent, and the editing is atrocious.  We are even warned at the beginning of the first disc that Nozomi did absolutely everything they could to preserve the source material, and I have no doubt they tried their hardest.  It’s just…it’s really bad.  The release is good, the show is just awful.  It’s sad that there isn’t enough of the original material to release it in its Japanese form, but if it’s gone, it’s gone, and I’m glad that there’s anything at all to release.  It’s just not my cup of tea.  I’ll finish it and buy the next set because I’m a completist, but it’s going to take a lot for me to enjoy watching it.

Danganronpa – Episodes 2-4 Danganronpa Cover

Finally, something great.  This is definitely my show of the season.  Apparently people who have played the video game are really disappointed with this adaptation…but I haven’t so I love it.  And I’m about to get into spoiler central, so if you haven’t seen up to episode 4 and haven’t played the game, stop reading now.

 

WHY DID THEY KILL OFF ALL MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS IN THE FIRST THREE EPISODES???  It’s not fair.  Goddamn it.  It’s just not fair.  I had no idea that my best girl and guy were going to go in one swoop.  I don’t even care who lives and dies anymore, but maybe it was all a hoax and they might reappear in the end…god, I hope so.  Can I also just say that the ending is perfection?  It’s just this slow zoom out with a fantastic song, but I am in love.  Best show of the season, hands down, I’m calling it now.

Okay, so maybe I didn’t watch stuff that was all that great.

Best of the Week: Danganronpa

Love it or Leave it: Attack on Titan, GetBackers, Watamote

Hope it Gets Better: K-On!!, Princess Knight, Sunday Without God

I’ll be back next week if I watch something.  I’ve seriously got to finish Smallville before the Comicon reunion, and I’m only on season 3.  This feels like an unattainable goal right now.  Sigh.

Leave a Reply

