Anime Mondays #30

Man, it’s been a couple of busy weeks.  Luckily, it was productively busy.  All my Disney Fast Pass+ stuff is now booked (yes, we got in the trial…baller status), my Halloween costumes have been purchased and accessorized, and I spent an awesome day at the Ren Faire yesterday yelling at people in a British accent.  AND I CAUGHT UP ON SOME ANIME.  Let’s rock.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Full Moon wo Sagashite – Episodes 1-8 Full Moon cover

I started to watch this anime on Hulu a long time ago, but when the DVDs came from Netflix, I had to start at the beginning.  Thankfully, I had the good sense to do this because I couldn’t remember anything I had seen however many months ago.  The plot for this show is semi-morbid: a girl is dying and her last wish is to be a famous singer, so some shinigami come and grant it for her.  I usually love these idol shows, but something about this one is throwing me off.  Sure, it’s cute, but I can’t stop the feeling of overwhelming dread I get whenever the main character gets reminded that, hey, she’s going to die really, really soon.  So it’s like…bittersweet with a side of heart-warming.  However, the female shinigami is such a bitch sometimes that I just want to punch her in the face.  I hope there’s a twist at the end, like the main character doesn’t die, but I’m not holding my breath.

Haganai – Episodes 6-7 Haganai Cover

Yay, my pre-order came in!  The artbox for Haganai is pretty cute, but I wish it came with some kind of extra other than the box.  The dub has consistently gotten better from episode to episode, but I’m developing a real dislike for Jerry Jewell.  Did I say that before?  He just seems so one note to me.  Please don’t get me wrong; I’d much rather have Jerry as a male lead in a show than another show with Todd Haberkorn in it, but sometimes the voice is just so…flat.  Also, I’m beginning to really dislike all the supporting characters in this show besides the main three.  The creepy sister, and the tiny nun and the extremely inappropriate scientist girl…pass.  Despite all its faults, I still like this show.  Clearly, my taste is warped.

Dragon Ball – Episodes 46-48 Dragon Ball Cover

So I started watching this renting it off Netflix…but Amazon had a great deal for the blue packaged season sets so I bought them all…and promptly decided I didn’t want to watch them.  Dragon Ball really succeeds in its tournament fighting, but fails in everything else.  I feel like I should watch this just because I’m a fan of the genre, but I never really got into Dragon Ball Z…anyway.  It was a Saturday morning, and I wanted to watch something I didn’t really have to pay attention to.  When I’m bored enough, I’ll pick this back up.

 

K-On!! – Episodes 8-13 K-on!! Cover

I think the world is ending; I’m actually enjoying K-On!!.  It only took me 20+ episodes in the franchise to like it, which I consider to be a problem, but I’ve finally gotten there.  I think it’s because more episodes centered around music in this last bunch that I watched.  The episode with Sawa-chan’s band…CLASSIC.  I loved it.  Mio freaking out over going to her first summer festival, that was adorable, too.  I love it when characters are passionate about something I’m also passionate about, and since I don’t have magical powers or a talking cat, music is pretty much at the top of that list.  I get it now.  I feel so much better about watching this through to the end.

 

Persona 4: The Animation – Episodes 1-3 Persona 4 Cover

I had never even heard of this show until I watched a few videos by The NSCL (good editing AND hysterical…who even knew that was possible? his stuff is fantastic), so I felt compelled to check it out.  And I’m really glad I did, so far.  The dub cast is awesome, which makes it really easy to watch…although the first disc only had three episodes on it.  What the shit, Sentai?  Anyway, Persona 4 is about this group of people who can literally jump into television screens and get into this alternate universe.  It’s kind of complicated to explain…but I’m digging it.  I just hope my rental service sends me another disc sooner rather than later.

 

Danganronpa: The Animation – Episodes 8-9 Danganronpa Cover

You know…I honestly thought that the killer in this arc was going to be my last remaining favorite character, and I was pleasantly surprised when it wasn’t.  However, I don’t know if I can get behind the way this is playing out.  Like, all of a sudden, there’s another kid in the school now?  I call bullshit.  I do have a theory about the overall plot/concept.  You ready?  I don’t think the dead kids are actually dead.  I think they’re still alive somewhere.  And I also think that they’re all drugged with some amnesia-inducing thing and they all knew each other before they got dragged to the school.  Like, those pictures weren’t faked…or they were taken once the “dead” kids got out of the school.  You know…cause I don’t think they’re dead.  We’ll see if this pans out.

The World God Only Knows Season 2 – Episodes 1-3 The World God Only Knows Season 2 Cover

I don’t know why I bought this.  Remember how I wrote that whole review and couldn’t decide if I liked this show or not?  It’s pretty clear going into season 2 that I don’t.  The first girl was kind of cute, but the new devil/witchy/whatever girl?  I’m not digging her.  I just want this dude to have a real relationship with ONE person.  It’s not going to happen.  I’m just setting myself up for disappointment.  I can only blame myself for this one, kids.

 

 

Attack on Titan – Episodes 17-20 Attack on Titan Cover

How are they going to finish this in five episodes?  The pace is so maddeningly slow compared to the first half of the series, that I have no idea how they are going to come to some sort of conclusion that gives the answers we’ve been waiting for for months.  Okay, so now there’s a female Titan, and even though they haven’t said who it is in the show yet, it’s painfully obvious…thanks to the opening.  We’ll see if I’m proved wrong, but just watch it and look for the characters who are featured.  One of these things is not like the others, my friends.  I want to know how all these human titans are popping up.  I want to know why the fuck they are wasting time going outside the walls and not going into Eren’s basement where they need to be.  And I want to know why people want to destroy themselves…because if they are destroying humanity, that’s what’s going to happen.  Mostly, though, I don’t want anyone else to die.  That’s a pipe dream.

Sankarea – Episodes 1-2 Sankarea Cover

Being a Funimation Elite member has its perks: one of them is getting to watch the first two episodes of this anime dubbed before it’s released in October.  Honestly, I just wish there were more ready to go because of one name: Aaron Dismuke.  Take note, Funimation: hire this kid for everything.  Even if he were in every show like Todd Haberkorn, I’d never get sick of him.  I randomly saw this was up and watched it, even though I wasn’t too fond of the concept, but I wanted to finish it immediately because the dub was so great.  Basically, this kid is in love with zombies and wants to re-animate his cat.  A girl with a completely fucked up home life joins him in this quest, but when it doesn’t work decides to kill herself instead of being reborn and turned into a zombie…yeah, it’s weird.  Good weird, but still weird.  I can’t wait to watch more of this…dubbed.

Best of the Week: Persona 4, K-On!!, Danganronpa, Sankarea

Love it or Leave it: Attack on Titan, Full Moon, Haganai

Hope it Gets Better: Dragon Ball, The World God Only Knows Season 2

I’ll be back to weekly next Monday, I promise.  I know these double posts are a lot to get through.  See you next week!

Leave a Reply

