Anime Mondays #33

I feel like another addition to my “Dumb Things Boys Do at the Bar” series should be forthcoming, kids, as I went to the bar this weekend, and wow, they did a plethora of dumb things.  On the same token, so did some of the girls.  But that is for another time and place.  This place is about anime.  Are you ready?  Here we go.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed below!

Blood Lad – Episode 2 Blood Lad Cover

After giving this show a rest for a little while, I decided to give it another shot, just to see if I could at least stay awake through the second episode.  It took a couple months, but I finally plowed through it and was immediately disappointed.  What I thought could have been an entertaining vampire comedy turned into something that was not at all like my precious Soul Eater, and more just like a bunch of nothing.  So the vampire takes the human girl turned ghost back to the human world to see if he can fix her and then just ends up being a vampire tourist, geeking out over trains and manga.  Seriously?  I started it, so OCD insists I finish Blood Lad, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to like it or complete it anytime soon.  It’s sad when I just don’t care anymore.

Interstella 555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem (Completed!) Interstella 5555 Cover

I am a HUGE Daft Punk fan and I didn’t even know this existed until I saw a Glass Reflection review of it.  I knew that the video for “One More Time” was anime and was completely enamored by it the first time I saw it, but I just had no clue they turned the entire album into a movie.  Discovery was the first album I purchased just by hearing it being played in a store.  I remember being in Virgin Megastore (RIP) in Chicago, hearing “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger,” and immediately asking the first employee I could find what this was and purchasing the CD.  It’s one of those albums where absolutely every song is amazing, and I played the hell out of it even though none of my friends were interested at all.  The movie has no dialogue and is completely scored by the album and a few sound effects.  I know.  It’s got this Fantasia-esque concept, but in a long form, and it feels like the best music video ever made.  Take that, Michael Jackson.  Basically, this band from another planet gets kidnapped by this dude from earth, gets brainwashed, and gets forced to become a band from Earth.  Meanwhile, an alien dude who is in love with the girl in the band tries to save them…it’s really good.  My enjoyment of this movie is kind of biased, seeing as I love Daft Punk and wanted to work in music videos for the longest time until they became less about the art form and more about how many girls in bikinis they could show spraying champagne on some rapper, but I digress.  It’s not going to be everyone’s thing, just like a lot of people really don’t like Daft Punk, but I loved it.  I actually rated this 10/10 on MAL because it’s the only thing I’ve ever seen of its kind, and I had fun with every second of it.  It’s on DVD, but rumors have it going out of print soon, so if you can pick it up, I’d do it.  I got my copy for under $15 on amazon.

Dangan Ronpa: The Animation – Episode 12 Danganronpa Cover

OH MY GOD THIS EPISODE.  Like…I’m so happy my theory was proven wrong.  So, so happy.  Well…I guess there is a slight chance it could be right, but just the fact at who the “mastermind” really is…SO EXCITED.  I mean, come on, we’re in the spoiler zone, right?  My cosplay of choice :).  There is only one left, and I’ll be sad to see this end.  Does the game have a sequel?  I don’t know how it could, but if it does, I hope this gets another season.  I have thoroughly enjoyed this show, and it has succeeded in keeping me on my toes, which I can’t say about a lot of anime.  Wins all around.

 

Watamote – Episode 11 Watamote Cover

Can I just tell you that after all the crap I gave this show when I marathoned what I had left to watch…and then this episode came…it made me want to take back some of the crap I gave the series.  See, Tomoko can act like a normal person when she has a friend.  Even though sometimes she gets a little crush on her friend Yuu, she can act like a human being when they’re out together.  And then with the Culture Festival Chair dressing up like a bear and giving her a balloon and a hug…I almost lost it.  Seriously.  I was legitly trying not to cry.  I want Tomoko to have a school friend so badly, and if she doesn’t fuck this up, she just might have one.  Please let the final episodes of this series not turn her into a monster again where I’m cringing through every episode.  It’s amazing what friends can do for a person, and the change in Tomoko is just astounding.

Day Break Illusion – Episodes 1-9 Day Break Illusion Cover

I’m so late to this summer season party where I’m starting all these shows in September, but this one just might be worth it.  I watched a review of the first episode that said this was supposed to be like the red-headed stepchild of Madoka Magica, and you guys know how much I love my Madoka, so I had to watch it.  Needless to say, I’ll probably finish the rest of it that’s out before the day is up.  And while this anime does have some parallels to Madoka, it is by no means up to the caliber of that show.  Day Break Illusion is about a girl named Akari who inherited fortune telling abilities from her dead mother, along with, apparently, the ability to turn into a tarot card-based magical girl who fights tarot card-based magical demons.  Her card is the sun card, which means she can make plants grow.  Anyway, the Madoka comparisons begin because unlike children’s magical girl shows, this one has people dying right off the bat.  It has the magical girls doing the killing.  Plus, they don’t skimp on the blood here.  When shit happens, there’s red splatters all over the place.  The animation quality for this show is pretty sub-par, as most of the characters look like “more anime” style versions of characters from Panty and Stocking, and the writing…well, it’s not that great.  I mean, the girl who has the moon card’s name is Luna and her sister’s name is Serena.  Come on, now.  The characters, so far, have gotten very little time to establish detailed backstories, other than one girl’s mother died, one used to be poor, one lost her best friend to one of the demons they’re fighting, and one has a twin sister.  Something that I found quite engaging about this series, though, is that the girls’ parents and family members actually know they are magical girls.  They don’t have to hide it from anyone, and it’s refreshing to see them discussing the trials and tribulations of their duties with their elders, who have gone through it or know someone who has, as their abilities are hereditary.  In fact, one of my favorite scenes was when the one girl’s father came to visit his daughter at her “magical girl school,” and they could sit and talk about how she was making all this money from her battles that could help out the family.  Day Break Illusion definitely has peaked my interest, but if you’re looking for a quality show, this is not it.  It’s like when Shadowstar Narutaru came with all those weirdo plot twists, but had the shittiest animation known to man.  Okay…it’s not THAT bad, but that’s the best comparison I can make right now.  It’s no Madoka Magica or Lyrical Nanoha (another show I really enjoyed), but it’s good for what it is, and I can’t wait to see how they are going to wrap everything up, especially after episodes 8-9 when shit literally hits the fan.

GetBackers – Episodes 41-45 GetBackers Cover

You guys, I AM ALMOST DONE WITH THIS SERIES!  In fact, I have the final disc in my possession, but no telling how long it will actually take me to watch it…because the last arc is another Makubex arc.  WHY, GETBACKERS, WHY???  The first one went on for so long, and the series is going to end on one.  I guess I’m ready for it to be over now, though.  An almost 50 episode series, and the best episodes were the standalone comedic ones.  So sad.

 

 

Naruto – Episode 4 Naruto cover

Slowly making my way through this series…I watch this before I go to bed, and it literally took me until late Saturday night to make it through just this one episode because I kept falling asleep through it.  So Naruto and his new gang have to grab a bell from their teacher or they don’t get to eat lunch.  Somehow, I think there are more prevalent problems in their world or some better training they could receive, but episode 5 promises to explain why this is so important….too bad I keep falling asleep through that one, too.

 

 

Best of the Week: Interstella 5555, Dangan Ronpa, Day Break Illusion, Watamote

Love it or Leave it: Blood Lad

Hope it Gets Better: GetBackers, Naruto

Just a heads up now; October is going to be an extremely busy month for me, so I may or may not get Anime Mondays posts out.  I’ll be sure to put up my guest passes, though, and there will be different, non-anime content as I get ready to go out on my Disney vacation.  Please feel free to keep up with me on MAL (dangeresque), Hummingbird and Crunchyroll (magica), and Twitter (glitterbotstoo) for the latest ramblings.  See you next week!

Leave a Reply

