2014: Year of the Backlog

Anime-s-Finest-XD-animes-finest-25255646-1440-900

I am currently in the middle of 236 anime series.  Yes, you read that correctly.  236.  Think I’m shitting you?  There’s proof on MAL.  I don’t know what the deal is.  I mean, I start something, I get bored, I switch to something else.  For a show to hold my attention, it really needs to have something special…and let’s be real, most of them don’t.  I also have this problem of starting long-running shounen series and then forcing myself to finish them…even if it takes the rest of my life.  I have dvds everywhere, my crunchyroll queue is a mess, and if I didn’t have a tracker, lord knows where I would be.

Clearly, my goal for this next year is to clear out at least a chunk of my backlog.  I want to move shows into the “completed” table.  My ADD is going to hate me because watching more than four episodes of one show at a time is kind of unheard of, but I have to try.  So here are my rules for anime watching next year.  If I stray from these, you have my permission to make me sit through Aria the Natural again.  Ugh.

  1. No starting a new show until I have finished one.
    At the end of the year, I will take a final tally of my unfinished shows, and that will be the number I cannot go over.  I will not allow myself to start a new show (even if it’s airing) until I finish one.
  2. Sequels of shows I have just finished watching do not count.
    Obviously, that means I will have just finished one and can add it anyway, but whatever.
  3. The new Sailor Moon overrides any and all rules.Yeah, hi, I’ve been waiting like 10+ years for this, I’m sure gonna watch the shit out of it.

At the end of the year, I hope to have cut my list down to size.  Lord, please.

That being said, is there any show I should start right now?  Something I can’t live without for a whole year?  I have to start it before next Wednesday, so, please, if there’s something completely amazing, let me know so I won’t be deprived.

Alright, now I’m gonna do something dumb like watch Pokemon.  That shit is never ending.

Leave a Reply

