Anime Mondays #44

First Anime Mondays post of the new year and we are snowed in.  Not snowed in enough to have a snow day, but, man…it’s brutal outside.  Perfect to stay in, drink some hot chocolate and boot up Crunchyroll.  That’s exactly what I’m going to do after I finish this post.  Also, scroll down for a surprise…

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Blue Exorcist – Episode 1 Blue Exorcist Cover

Before my backlog challenge began, I tried to start as many series as possible so I wouldn’t get bored just finishing things off this year, and Blue Exorcist was one of them.  I had heard a lot of good things about it, and it was on a lot of unboxing videos, so I decided to check it out.  Of course, now that I like it, it means I’m going to have to shell out top dollar to buy it with the dub since it’s an Aniplex release.  Ugh.  Anyway, this anime starts off with our bad-rep protagonist, who most people think is a stupid bully…but really, he just has a big heart and is completely misunderstood.  I love him already.  But, wouldn’t you know it?  His dad is a priest and he just might be the real son of….spoilers!  I will definitely continue to check this out as soon as I rob a bank or something because I want to watch the rest of it dubbed.  Aniplex limited edition releases…god, my wallet.

Naruto – Episodes 53-60 Naruto cover

Guess who got the next Naruto box set in with her Right Stuf Christmas order??  This girl.  The episodes I watched all focused on training and the very beginning of the last round of the Chunin exams, along with what a bad ass Gara (Sand Village Guy!) is.  I love him.  I don’t care.  He’s particularly evil, and that makes him awesome.  He just doesn’t give a shit.  I don’t want to see him destroy Sasuke, but that’s if Sasuke actually shows up for his fighting round…so conflicted.  Also, Naruto learned the summoning jutsu and he can make giant toads magically appear out of thin air because of his blood contract.  How does he not pass out biting his thumb all the time?  People don’t bleed that easily….

Amnesia – Episodes 1-12 (Completed!) Amnesia Cover

First anime I marathoned and finished for the new year is Amnesia!  And it…wasn’t that great.  I mean, it was no Girls Bravo where I turned it off in disgust, but it wasn’t Ouran or anything.  This show is a reverse harem…but not really.  It’s based off a game, which you can tell right away, especially since the main girl’s name is…well…she doesn’t have one.  Technically, it’s “Heroine,” but everyone just says, “Ne, kimi!” a lot (which means, “hey, you!” according to the subtitles), so I’m just gonna call her Hey You, just You for short.  Anyway, she has amnesia (shocker), and has this little fairy who stalks her because he bumped into her and gave her amnesia, so he feels compelled to help her get her memories back.  However, You is caught in a giant Groundhog Day time loop where she can exist for a certain number of days until she gets killed…and then wakes up on August 1.  The reverse harem comes into play because there are these four dudes she works with, and in each restart, she dates a new one.  This is by far the best part of the show, and if the underlying plot weren’t prevalent, I probably could have enjoyed Amnesia more than I did.  The male character designs are wonderful and based off pseudo-gothic/S&M playing cards, and each guy has his own fucked up personality.  Why they love Hey You I have no idea, because she has about as much personality as a box of rocks…or Yui from Diabolik Lovers or the girl with no pupils from Uta no Prince Sama.  Read: she has absolutely NONE, and has horrible fashion sense.  Unfortunately, the stupid Groundhog Day plot attempts to be explained in the final two episodes, and it’s dumb and just doesn’t work.  I’d rather be stuck in the reverse harem time loop forever than get my memories back.  Um, hello, four hot dudes that love you for no reason?  Where do I sign up??  My favorite guy was the diamond dude from the beginning, but by the time I got to his arc…well, it’s a thing memes are made of.  I rated this 5/10 on MAL, but that’s being generous.  I guess, just like regular harems, reverse harems are just not meant to have plots.

Yu Yu Hakuso – Episodes 57-64 Yu Yu Hakusho Title

FINALLY THIS TOURNAMENT IS OVER…I THINK.  Oh man, you know how I love my tournament fighters, but, Jesus, this went on forever.  And it’s all sorts of fucked up.  The red haired guy…is he dead?  Yusuke murdered the gigantic 100% power dude???  I can’t.  Too much has happened, too many things have been destroyed, and I am just…in shock.  I need a refresher course, or possibly a recap episode.  I know, I’m begging for a recap episode.  I don’t know what I’ll do if the red haired dude is really dead, though…I’ll cry rivers.

 

Kamisama Kiss – Episodes 1-2 Kamisama Kiss Cover

Okay, I’ve already shelled out the money to pre-order the ridiculous limited edition of this from Funimation, but when the dub got put up on the channel, I had to cheat and see what I was getting myself into.  I mean, let’s be real, if a pretty limited edition of anything is put out, I pretty much have to get it, so I went into this blind.  The dub is hysterical.  I laughed out loud at parts, even if the show reminds me of Fruits Basket, which I didn’t really like…in fact, I think Tia Ballard might be the poor man’s Laura Bailey.  There were times in this show where I heard Laura Bailey’s voice in my head coming out of the main character’s mouth…which was really odd.  Tia Ballard does a fine job, but it was just like something was missing.  Anyway, Kamisama Kiss looks like a fine show right up my alley, so I’m glad I plunked down the cash.  Basically, this girl is homeless and some creeper kisses her on the forehead, and, by this gesture, he turns her into a god and gives her his shrine.  Then she meets this animal dude who has to protect her and bam.  Show.  I love the character designs, I won’t lie.  Except for the main girl.  She’s too Fruits Basket.  I’ll wait until I have that tote bag in my hot little hands before I watch the rest of this.

Mysterious Girlfriend X – Episode 7 Mysterious Girlfriend X Cover

Well, I watched the PV for Pupa, immediately wanted to watch it, and then realized I can’t watch it until I finished a show…hence, I just started going through crap in my Crunchyroll queue.  Mysterious Girlfriend X was the first thing I came upon.  I used to watch this weekly, and then I got turned off by it so I just stopped.  This is a really odd show.  But it’s not odd in a good way, it’s just…strange.  This episode was about the weird alien girl being able to run fast and the sports festival, where her nerdy girlfriend showed her swimsuit to her boyfriend to make him feel better…it’s just STRANGE.  Plus, alien girl carries scissors in her underwear.  Needless to say, I remembered why I kept it unwatched in my queue for so long and switched to a different show.

Pretty Cure – Episode 19 Pretty Cure Cover

I wanted to cleanse my pallet a little, so I turned on an episode of Pretty Cure.  I think we might be coming up to a point where the plot is going to start kicking in…at least, I hope, as they just sort of destroyed a really big villain.  I’m watching this English dubbed, and, it’s not unwatchable, like many have claimed.  It’s easier for me to plow through magical girl shows with a dub, especially since the subtitles on Crunchyroll have a weird audio delay and don’t match up correctly…it is the poor man’s Sailor Moon, but I don’t hate it.

 

Good Luck Girl – Episodes 8-10 Good Luck Girl Cover

Okay, next Funimation sale, I am totally buying this.  Good Luck Girl is HYSTERICAL.  I don’t know if it’s the dub performances or the writing which I like better, but I cracked the fuck up through these episodes, especially the one with the tennis match…holy shit, I haven’t laughed that hard at an anime in a long time.  I don’t know if it’s as funny in Japanese, but in English, it’s perfect.  If you watch nothing else, go watch episode 9, which is the one with the tennis game and the cook-off…you will not be disappointed.

 

Fantasista Doll – Episodes 2-3 Fantasista Doll Cover

I will cop to this: I watched this show because I had a couple bars of the theme song stuck in my head.  It’s just as terrible as I remember it.  It’s like Card Captor Sakura on very bad crack.  I’m totally not feeling it, but I have to finish it.  I hope it gets better?  God, please, for my sanity.

 

 

I am still in the middle of 240 shows, though I did complete 1 before the challenge started.

Here’s a free Crunchyroll guest pass for making you look at the title card for Fantasista Doll.  I apologize.

NJC8LFN9LMS

Time to bust out a snowbound marathon…so I can watch Pupa.  Yup, I’m regretting this challenge already.

Leave a Reply

