Anime Mondays #48

Guys, I’m tired.  I really need a vacation.  In fact, I looked into booking a quickie, cheap cruise on Carnival (yuck) just to get out of town for a few days.  Fortunately, I came to my senses soon after and took a nap instead.  Not the same, but it quelled the desire to go back on the dungeon boat.  PS – there’s a surprise inside this post.  You know the drill.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Nana – Episodes 35-37 NANA Cover

I spent a lot of time this week with the random number generator, using it to pick shows off my list to watch.  Clearly, my random number generator knows my favorite anime of all time and decided I should get on my way to finishing it for a third viewing.  I can’t tell you how much I love Nana.  I mean, honestly, my love for this show knows no bounds.  I’ve said this on numerous occasions.  However, the last arc of the show depresses me to no end.  Firstly, Hachi + Nobu forever, okay.  This Takumi crap is out of bad fanfiction.  Plus, he’s a complete dick.  I will never buy them together.  (Yes, I am reading the manga now, so don’t tell me what happens.)  And Rockstar Nana just starts this huge downward spiral because she thinks she’s holding on too tightly to Ren and needs to be completely independent.  She’s been independent while she’s been with Ren this entire time.  Come on, Nana.  You know better than that.  These episodes lead up to the conclusion of the anime series, and I just…ugh.  I know the end is coming and I want more already.  I also want to hear “Winter Sleep,” which is one of the greatest ending songs of all time, and I know it’s coming…I just don’t know when.  I had to stop watching because the show was utterly depressing me, but that’s not a bad thing…I just needed a break.

Nerima Daikon Brothers – Episodes 9-12 (Completed!) Nerima Daikon Brothers Cover

I have had this show forever.  Seriously, forever.  I remember seeing a preview for it on one of the very first shows I purchased when I started collecting and knew I had to own it, despite the fact that it was ridiculously expensive.  And then I watched two thirds of it…and it took me years to watch the last four episodes.  I mean, when I started my MAL profile, I ranked things before I had finished them, and I rated Nerima Daikon Brothers as a 10.  I have since rectified this rating, but I digress.  If you have neither seen nor heard of this anime, it’s by the creator of Excel Saga if that tells you anything.  (It didn’t for myself, as I had never seen Excel Saga, and as of the date of this post, I still haven’t.)  It’s about these three friends who dream of being rockstars, and want to build a dome for them to have concerts in the middle of their daikon field.  Basically, the whole show is one big musical parody.  And the English dub is AWESOME.  Luci Christian is sufficiently campy as Mako, and you won’t even recognize Greg Ayres.  Seriously.  When I checked the cast list, I thought it was a typo.  But he’s GOOD, so don’t worry.  A lot of the jokes, however, get lost in translation.  Thank goodness for AD-Vid Notes that popped up on the screen to explain crap to me because I’d never understand it.  But guys…in the last batch of episodes, there is a Michael Jackson parody that made me laugh so hard I choked…on multiple occasions.  The ending was pretty much crap, but the show is charming.  You just have to be able to understand what’s happening.  I changed my rating to 7/10 on MAL.

Boku no Imouto wa Osaka Okan – Episodes 6-12 (Completed!) My Sister Is an Osaka Mama Cover

Random.org gave me this one to watch, and as the episodes are only three minutes long, I took the opportunity to cross it off my list.  Yay!  Unfortunately, that was the selling point to completing this anime, since it wasn’t very funny.  I mean, it had a few laughs, but there’s absolutely no character development, and it looks like it was made in Flash.  The animation is just atrocious.  It had some funny gags, but I really don’t think I’m one for these gag anime.  Plus, all the humor is about the differences between Japanese people who live in Tokyo and ones who live in Osaka, and I just don’t get it.  I rated this 5/10 on MAL.

Wedding Peach – Episode 14 Wedding Peach

This was my last random pick for the post, and I can’t even tell you what happened in this episode, as I was watching it at the same time I was sort of watching the Superbowl, and losing horribly at Superbowl Squares.  I purchased Wedding Peach because it was supposed to be like Sailor Moon, and other than the obvious genre similarities…it’s nothing like Sailor Moon.  It’s rough to be compared to a classic, yo.

 

Naruto – Episodes 78-82 Naruto cover

Well, the Chunin Exam arc is now officially over…and, as expected, nobody passed the damned exam.  All those episodes for nothing.  Well, I shouldn’t say that, as Gaara entered my life, and he is still one of the best villains ever…except for the part where he pussied out at the end.  At least Naruto didn’t kill him, but for him to just cave and say, “it’s over?!”  Come the fuck on.  Maybe he’ll come back.  I sincerely hope so.  Oh, and that fight with the Third Hokagi that never ended?  It finally did.  And not in a good way.  The new arc looks…well, I don’t even know.  It looks like a bunch of people are out to track down and steal Naruto’s power (side note: has anyone made a Naruto/”What Does the Fox Say?” parody yet?  because it’s begging to happen), and….meh.  Bring back Gaara.

One Piece – Episodes 75-78 One Piece Cover

WE ARE FINALLY OUT OF GIANT LAND.  HOORAY.  No, seriously, this arc was just stupid, and I am so glad it’s over.  Now, we’re back on the boat and Nami is sick, so they are going to have to go off course to get her medicine.  Poor Nami.  At least she has a girlfriend now on board to commiserate with her.  They just keep picking up stragglers, don’t they?  Also, I finally have finished Collection 3, which I just could not get through.  Only five more to go before the new one gets released in April (FINALLY!).  Thank god I don’t have to buy those ugly Voyage sets.  You rule, Funimation.

Hellsing – Episodes 4-5 Hellsing Cover

I can’t remember why I decided to turn this on, but it was deliberate.  I think maybe because I was watching a bunch of youtubers gush over Crispin Freeman and it made me want to hear his voice?  I’m not quite sure.  But, let me tell you, his voice is the ONLY saving grace of this English dub.  The rest of the cast just does horrific accents and they are not cute.  This show isn’t really doing anything for me, even though I love horror anime and vampires.  I hope it gets better?  Cause it really needs to.

 

Magical Angel Creamy Mami – Episodes 1-6 Creamy Mami Cover

No, your eyes are not deceiving you.  That is an episode 1 you see up there.  Yes, I started another series.  Don’t murder me.  But I just had to.  You see, I pledged for the Anime Sols release of this set, and it FINALLY arrived this week.  And my name is in the DVD credits.  I know.  Be jealous.  The DVD quality is quite good for a kickstarter release (although, I guess there is a subtitle issue on disc 2, but I haven’t gotten that far — we are getting shipped replacement discs), but there are a couple things that bug me.  For example, the word “disc” is spelled incorrectly multiple places.  The cover art has cut off corners.  And if you don’t fast forward through the ending theme, it starts you back at the menu.  Also, for $7 shipping, you’d think it could come in some nicer packaging than a bubble envelope where the DVDs were rattling around in the case before I even opened it, but, whatever.  I blind pledged for this show, and I love it.  You know how I love my magical girls.  Parts of it, though…man, it’s like the writers were on acid or something.  For those of you who know nothing about Creamy Mami, here’s the gist; a girl named Yuu sees a spaceship out her window and follows it to this open space, where she is brought on board and into a giant, alien, fantastical world, where they bestow upon her magical powers for one year, a compact and a wand.  She also gets two talking cats who try to help her, but don’t really do much other than act annoyingly.  The power of transformation is her first magic spell, and by busting out a lot of ‘p’ words, she can transform into an older, prettier version of herself.  And what’s the first thing she does?  Tries to make a boy like her and becomes an idol.  Let’s be real…I’d do the same thing.  This show is very vintage, so if that’s not your thing, you won’t like this at all.  But I love it.  I can’t wait for her to get in more trouble with her Kanon stick.

Pupa – Episode 5 Pupa Cover

I officially no longer have any idea what is happening with this series, and I have read the manga.  Well, all of it that’s been translated, anyway.  Either, they are pulling out all new stuff, or they just skipped from chapter 3 past chapter 15, because the content in this episode is NOWHERE TO BE FOUND.  It also doesn’t make a lick of sense.  Yume was supposed to have gotten the monster virus from the butterflies, but now, she was apparently born with it?  What the fuck?  Has it been dormant all this time?  Because her brother clearly had no knowledge of it, even though his sister was mutilated as a baby and still lived and ate the shit out of a bunch of birds.  Plot holes aside, this was, by far, the best episode of Pupa yet.  Even if it doesn’t make any sense in a timeline fashion, this was creepy as hell, and the mother is fucked up.  And you know how much I like those fucked up anime.  Finally, I’m looking forward to next Thursday.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters – Episode 50 Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Monsters Cover

Yup, Amazon sure did put season 2 on sale, and I opened it yesterday to start a new arc.  Unfortunately, I did get sidetracked and only watched one episode, but you know I can marathon this show like no tomorrow.  I hope they start introducing new rules or Yugi gets some new cards or something, though, because I’m super bored with his Summon Skull and Polymerization cards.  There has got to be something new in his deck…right?

 

Man, this is a long post.  Sorry.  Here’s a free Crunchyroll guest pass:

MKBTSBVLLNG

I am currently watching 236 anime and have completed 9 shows this year.  See, it’s dwindling.  Slowly.

Leave a Reply

