Anime Mondays #50

I can’t believe this will be the 50th post I’ve written where I basically laundry list out all the anime I’ve consumed during a week.  I know this blog has been around longer than a year, but, in case you can’t tell by my series that I have abandoned or put off for lack of time, I’m not really good at continuing things until they’re finished.  But 50 posts.  My OCD likes that number.  Sadly, I don’t have any awesome milestones to speak of here.  Instead of watching anime, I checked out Star Crossed because I read on twitter that Brina Palencia was in it, and I wanted to see if she’s a better real actress or voice actress.  Jury’s still out on that one, but all the high schoolers in the show look about as old as the parents.  Also Aimee Teegarden is unrecognizable.  What happened to the adorable girl from Friday Night Lights?  Anyway, this isn’t what you came here for.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

The Twelve Kingdoms – Episodes 1-2 (re-watch) The Twelve Kingdoms Cover

I purchased this show because it was on sale from the Right Stuf Christmas sale, but the only thing I could remember about it was that I fell asleep through it the first time I watched the disc I rented off Netflix.  Sadly, this continued to be the case, as I could not get through episode 3, and off to Dreamland I went.  I’m sure it’s not THAT boring of a show…I mean, it’s long, so it had to be popular.  Maybe I was just tired?  I’ll try again.  Anyway, The Twelve Kingdoms is one of those fantasy anime where a modern girl gets transported to this magical world.  I think I really just wanted to re-watch Fushigi Yuugi, but since I’m doing that backlog challenge, I felt like I shouldn’t start anything new.  This show is pretty violent, even though our main girl is a pacifist.  She’s transported to this fantasyland with a girl and a boy, who I think are dating, and then they basically get captured right away.  And the dude that brings them there is actually a unicorn.  Yeah.  It’s pretty fucked up.  I should have just popped in what I wanted to watch to hear Miaka scream, “TAMAHOMEEEEEE!” over and over again.

Code Geass – Episodes 14-17 Code Geass Cover

I actually paid attention to these episodes!  I know, the world must be ending.  But when I realized what was going on, it was just the main characters figuring out what the viewer had known in the first episode: Lelouch now knows that he is fighting against his BFF Suzaku.  I am happy that I have been continuing this show now because shit just got real.  Unfortunately, my rental service has decided it doesn’t want to send me discs anymore or something, since I put two in the mail at the end of January, and they still haven’t marked them as returned…that’s some bullshit.

Yu Gi Oh Duel Monsters – Episode 65 Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Monsters Cover

Yep, one, pathetic little episode of Yu Gi Oh! this week.  Couldn’t tell you what it was about, as I believe I was half paying attention to it while I was on lunch or something.  Clearly, it wasn’t anything to write home about.

 

 

 

Steins;Gate – Episode 1 Steins;Gate Cover

See, now I really should have watched Fushigi Yuugi, as I ended up starting a new show anyway.  Old habits.  They die hard.  But everyone and their dog has raved about what an amazing show Steins;Gate is, and how you’re stupid if you don’t watch it and blah blah blah….well…I turned on the first episode and was incredibly bored.  I didn’t really understand a lot of it; it all sounded like psycho babble to me.  I suppose the gist is that this one dude (who is voiced by J. Michael Tatum in the worst performance I have ever heard from him) can time travel, and he sees the murder of this girl, but then he doesn’t know if he really did because everyone tells him they saw him somewhere else, and…it’s complicated.  Maybe I need to watch it in Japanese, not because it would make more sense, but just because the almost-British accent the main dude has is completely off-putting.  Tatum was FANTASTIC in Black Butler, but this is just not working for me.  Does it get better past the first episode?

Pupa – Episode 7 Pupa Cover

I’ve said it once, but I’ll say it again; I’m really glad I decided to read this manga, or I’d have no clue what the hell is happening in this show.  Maria (the freaky witch girl) has now decided it would be a great idea to impregnate herself with the incestual child of Yume and her brother.  That’s it.  That’s everything that happened in this episode.  Note to self: never let a doctor put you under anesthesia again because you never know if they will be secretly harvesting your eggs.  Gross.  I feel like I need a shower after I watch each episode of this show.  It’s not cute.

And that’s it.  Yeah, seriously.  I am currently watching 237 shows and have completed 9 this year.  I’d say I’d have a better selection next week, but, let’s be real, I’m more than likely just going to catch up on The Lying Game.  Thanks, Netflix.  If you had FMA Brotherhood dubbed, this wouldn’t be an issue.

Leave a Reply

