Anime Mondays #52

Well, I watched a total of 3 whole shows this week.  Did I finish any?  Nope.  In my defense, two are ongoing, so I couldn’t, and the other is really long, so I was lucky I watched this whole chunk before I got bored.  This being the case, yes, this is a post with a prize inside (just scroll down, like normal), and here are some thoughts on the upcoming Spring 2014 season.  Are you ready?  Are you waiting with bated breath??

I probably won’t be watching anything.

Just kidding, Soul Eater Next will be on, and despite the fact that this show looks like a hot mess, I loved Soul Eater, so if I can cross another show off my currently watching list, this might be the one I’ll watch on a weekly basis.  Also, there’s another season of La Corda D’oro.  Be still my reverse harem loving heart.  Yeah, that one’s probably going to happen, as well.  I hope the main girl picks somebody at the end.  God, please.  Anybody.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Marmalade Boy – Episodes 32-39 Marmalade Boy Cover

This should come as a surprise to absolutely no one that I like Marmalade Boy due to my love of all things retro, shoujo and drama.  I mean, I thought Dear Brother was a soap opera mess (sidenote: set 3 is up for pledging on Anime Sols, what are you waiting for?), but this is just…soap without the opera.  Let me explain.  This anime is about a girl named Miki, whose parents are divorcing and remarrying the parents of a boy named Yuu.  To make things more confusing, they all decide to stay friends, and the four parents and the two step-siblings are all living together in the same house.  But, oops, Yuu and Miki like each other, and are trying to start this budding relationship, but have to hide it from their parents because yeah…incest is best!  Actually, they’re not really related, so does that even count?  I digress.  There are also a bunch of side characters that show up, and all the girls are in love with Yuu while the boys are in love with Miki.  Then the shit hits the fan as they break up, get back together, more people fall in love with them, decide they only love each other, have some ridiculous misunderstanding because they don’t like to communicate, break up, etc.  Honestly, if you watch this show in big chunks, it’s mentally exhausting because the same crap happens over and over again with new characters that magically appear to cause drama.  Sadly, it’s extremely addicting, and I don’t even like Miki and Yuu together.  Right now, I’m shipping Miki and her ice cream store co-worker, but since she’s literally pushed him down to the ground at least twice now, that’s probably not going to happen.  I know.  I’m going to stop trying to make fetch happen.  Ugh.  I jumped back into this after one year + of not watching it, and let me tell you, it took about four episodes to figure out who liked who, and who dated who, and who hates who so I could get back into it, and that’s just sad.  There are SO MANY CHARACTERS, and the story lines don’t go away, like the side characters never disappear, they just hook up with other people, and it’s hard to keep everything straight.  It’s also a 70+ episode series, and yes, I did purchase all of it and am on Collection 3 out of 4, but man, is it hard to get through.  Tokyopop dubbed it, but it’s atrocious, so I’m stuck with the subtitles, and for a long running show, it doesn’t move fast.  But, if you like your drama with a side of high school whining, this show is for you.  So, yes…I like it.  Don’t judge me.

Pupa – Episode 9 Pupa Cover

If this show weren’t four minutes long, I would have thrown in the towel on watching it weekly because it’s just so…ugh.  UGH.  I can’t think of a better word, I just have to sigh dramatically and throw my Roku remote in the air in disgust each time the ending theme plays.  This week, we get a bunch of censored dissection scenes of our favorite big brother while the sister sits in a chair blindfolded.  Yup.  That’s it.  I mean, at the end, she breaks her chains and goes all Incredible Hulk on everybody, but they don’t show it, so it’s pointless.  They just animate her creepy, glowing bug eyes and make some kind of insect noises.  Gee, if I wanted my manga with sound, I could have turned on Animal Planet in the background while I read it.  There are three more episodes left, and this story, or the lack thereof, will not have a sound conclusion.  What about the monster baby?  What about the parents?  Is there a cure?  None of these will get answered.  I don’t know why I bother caring about this anime, because the animators sure don’t.

Kuroko no Basket Season 2 – Episodes 8-22 Kuroko no Basket Season 2 Cover

Marathon time!  I just cannot watch sports anime while it’s ongoing.  I just can’t.  The episodes are paced so slowly that if one episode is half a quarter of a basketball game, and it takes two months in real time for the game to be finished…no.  I need that instant gratification, which is why I decided to catch up on this all in one week.  Go me.  I’m not a huge fangirl over Kuroko no Basket like a ton of people, but I do enjoy the show.  I will cop to the fact that in the Kagami vs Aomine showdown, I was screaming at my television, but that’s beside the point.  It took forever to get through that game.  I know it was a huge deal and all because it was a Seiren vs a Generation of Miracles game, but, damn.  The game for this last arc is either going to be crammed into too few episodes because the season is ending in four weeks, or we’ll be left with one hell of a cliff-hanger which is completely unacceptable.  Is this going to get a third season?  I have no idea, but it needs one because…Kise.  WHERE IS KISE?  Stop just showing him watching other people play basketball and show him playing basketball!  If you’re looking for something realistic, this anime is not your thing, but if you just want to yell at the tv for awhile, then go for it.  I mean, Kuroko can shoot now…let’s just keep giving him all these abilities so he will surpass even Kagami.  Dumb.  But good show.

And that’s the end!  For your trouble, here’s a free Crunchyroll guest pass:

8GMUGXHV4UG

Stats are the same as last week with 236 currently watched shows, and 13 completed this year.  No post next week as I’m going out of town, so in two there will be a double, but I’ll try to get something queued in the meantime.  Also, I bought my third Dragon Box.  Only one more cheap(ish) one left, and then I’m going into the hundred dollar + territory.  Anyone want to sell me Box 2?  Anyone?  Bueller??

3 comments

Leave a Reply

