Anime Mondays #62

Well guys, I am sick.  Sick, sick, sick.  And not in the head, I mean physically.  Unfortunately, it’s not like, sick where I can lie around and watch a bunch of shows because I can’t do anything else, it’s like, goddamn, I’m dizzy and want to be unconscious as much as possible sick.  Gross.  This post should be interesting.  While I still have my wits about me, don’t forget to enter my giveaway to win a free two month Crunchyroll Anime membership.  Just in case you were wondering, I am not sponsored by them in any way, I’m paying for this myself like a boss.

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Attack on Titan – Episodes 6-9 (Re-watch) Attack on Titan Cover

I finished off one blu-ray to check for scratches!  Win!  There weren’t any.  So now I feel kind of cheated that I forced myself to plow through this so quickly when I didn’t have to.  The dub is still okay.  Armin is fantastic.  Not a fan of Mikasa.  Still on the fence about Eren.  Everyone else is everyone else.  Watching this for a second time and knowing what happens does take some of the awesome factor away, though.  I mean, when Eren popped out of that titan, the first time I was like HOLY SHIT, NO WAY WHAT IS HAPPENING?!?!!  And this time, I was just like, “oh yeah, there goes Eren popping out of  a titan.”  On the second watch, it does, however, make more sense.  Like, the flashbacks with the basement key and everything…and then leading up to the (stupid) ending of the series, if you think about key events that happened in these very first episodes, then that last three seconds feels more validated.  Still not that happy I paid $30 extra just to get a couple necklaces, though.  And I want an art box.  I know better for next time.

Soul Eater Not! – Episodes 6-7 Soul Eater Not Cover

I had every intention of catching up with this series this week and then life got in the way.  However, DEATH THE KID CAMEO!  Finally.  I only waited half the season for this.  And let me tell you, it is the best ten seconds of the entire series, even if he is jacked up in this hideous animation style.  Actually, Patty and Liz (Death the Kid’s weapons) surprisingly are featured cast members in these two episodes, and we get to learn a lot more of their back story.  Not that I’m particularly interested, but anything that gets me more of my anime boyfriend on screen, I’ll take.  Also, the main villain of this series finally shows herself and starts causing a whole ton of crazy shit.  Finally, things are getting good.  It only took HALF THE SERIES.  I’d really like to catch up and finish before I leave on vacation next weekend…but don’t hold your breath.

 

Bleach – Episodes 30-31 Bleach Title

Look, I told you I would watch more Bleach!  Thanks, illness insomnia for making this happen.  Ichigo unleashed some ridiculous power and kicked some major ass on this bad guy.  That was about it.  God, the pacing.  Help me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hikaru no Go – Episodes 13-16 Hikaru no Go Cover

Another disc down, another four episodes closer to finishing.  So Hikaru competes in his first Go tournament with Akira, and although he agrees that Sai should play him, because all Akira wants in the world is to take down Sai, Hikaru decides that he wants to see how much better he’s gotten by himself and plays Akira without Sai’s help.  Dumbass.  Of course, he loses, and Akira gets all pissed off at him because he underestimated his abilities and has wasted all this time in a middle school Go club when he could have been getting ready to go pro.  Okay then.  What a little bitch.  He won.  Quit crying about it.  After that, Hikaru decides to start playing Go online on a super old iMac, and lets Sai play all the people he wants.  Dangerous when it leads up to an in-person tournament.  THE DANGERS OF THE INTERNET PEOPLE.  Stalkers abound.  Can’t wait to see what happens when Hikaru gets found out.

 

Naruto – Episodes 142-148 Naruto cover

Well, I couldn’t remember what episode number I finished on and had to go look it up on Wikipedia, where I saw that THE ENTIRE REST OF THE SERIES IS FILLER.  I mean, I kind of knew it when they started bringing back old characters from episode 1 that I couldn’t remember to save the life of me, but oh my god.  That’s like…80+ episodes of filler.  I will not get to see if Sasuke comes back until I move on to the next series.  Fuck my life.  At least Ino’s back.  I love her.  This newest mission is about some bugs.  I don’t love that.  But…ugh…filler.  Is it even worth it to finish out the series?  Normally I don’t drop anything ever, but 80+ episodes of nothing happening might just kill me.

 

 

Doujin Work – Episodes 5-10 Doujin Work Cover

I will say with confidence that I will finish this series next week.  This group of episodes has turned pretty much into our main girl “fighting” her rival to see who can sell more doujinshi copies.  But the rival girl is drawing guy on guy action now, and, honestly, that’s where most of the jokes are coming from.  And they are hysterical.  Everyone else can take a backseat, rival girl is where it’s at.

 

 

 

 

Hunter x Hunter (2011) – Episode 1 Hunter x Hunter 2011 cover

I did not intend to start this series.  I have fallen asleep watching the first episode of this about 20 times, and that was what I was banking on when I turned it on again: nap time.  And, then, of course, I stayed awake for the whole thing.  Honestly, it’s not terrible.  And you know how I feel about my long-running shounen series.  It was just a matter of time before I picked this up, and now it’s all I want to watch.  Hunter x Hunter (the x is silent) is about this kid named Gon who wants to take the hunter exam so he can see why his father abandoned him to go do it.  Now, I don’t know if hunters hunt monsters, people, etc., but it sounds a lot like One Piece without the pirates.  Since pirates are the only reason I watch One Piece, I’m on the fence.  But the characters aren’t annoying me so far, and the premise is good, so…here we go.  I just wish I could track down the first volume of the original series because my OCD is hating me right now.

Akuma no Riddle – Episode 11 Akuma no Riddle Cover

God, I almost forgot to put this on here because I accidentally left it off my MAL.  Lame.  And not because it was a forgettable episode, just because I’m an idiot.  Let’s blame the cold medicine.  Well…we now know it all.  Haru has some sort of compulsion power where she can make people do whatever she wants, including not killing her and making Tokaku turn into her protector instead of her enemy…at least that’s what the lady in charge wants us to think.  I don’t know.  Does Haru really have this power?  Is it just her personality?  I guess what matters most is that now Tokaku feels really betrayed and has decided to slice Haru into pieces.  And I say, good on ya.  This series was supposed to be yuri, but I haven’t gotten a single hint of it, other than in the last few minutes of this episode, and that’s only if Tokaku feels so put out because she trusted Haru enough to fall in love with her…but I’m not even quite sure that happened.  I think it’s just a friendship.  I’m totally fine with either way, but there’s still a lot of elements in this anime that have been left unresolved, and that’s one of them.  Let’s see how next week ends up.  I’ll tell you now that this remains my favorite show of the season, though, and even if the ending is shit, that’s not going to change.

That’s it for this week.  Here’s the counts for those of you playing the home game.  I am currently watching 243 shows and have completed 27 anime this year.  God.  I need to get a handle on this backlog challenge ASAP.  Post will be late next week as I’ll be out of town, so it may have to be Anime Tuesdays, but I’ll get it up.  Time to see if I can knock anything out before my cough medicine knocks ME out.  Sounds good.

Leave a Reply

