Anime Mondays #63

Yeah, it’s Tuesday.  I was in a different time zone all weekend.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk about some anime, shall we?  And don’t forget to enter my birthday giveaway!  It’s only open until Friday night!  You can win two free months of Crunchyroll from me, and who doesn’t want that?

All images are from MAL, and there are spoilers up to the episodes listed!

Pokemon – Episodes 19-26 Pokemon Cover

I’ll admit to popping in this DVD just because I saw some youtube videos talking about people’s favorite Pokemon.  And there are like…over 700 of them now.  I seriously only know of the first 150 so I was completely lost.  I need to catch up ASAP.  So, first season of Pokemon it is.  Now, I’m already one episode off because one of them was pretty much banned in the US and was only aired once because James from Team Rocket had fake boobs, so I’ll watch it on youtube to keep my episode count accurate.  I’m guessing that the MAL list is for the Japanese version and not the English one, so I’ll have to correct that…but I did watch eight episodes of this.  That happened.  And I can’t tell you anything specific that went down, other than the introduction of the psychic and ghost Pokemon.  Ash battles some gym leaders!  Ash gets some badges!  Brock acts like a creeper!  Misty hates boys!  The ghost episodes were funny, though.  That Haunter…what a little shit.  OH WAIT.  The episode where Ash lets his Butterfree go is in this group, too.  When I saw this on tv when I was a kid, I BAWLED.  This time, not so much.  Goodbye, Butterfree.  We hardly knew you.

Doujin Work – Episodes 11-12 Doujin Work Cover(Completed!)

Told you I would finish this anime.  Honestly, it wasn’t anything to write home about.  If I hadn’t paid a whopping $5 for this whole series, I probably never would have watched it.  Thanks, Crunchyroll mystery boxes!  Of course, you only gave me two out of three, so I had to get the other volume off amazon.  Bitches.  If you want to know the outcome of the live action series without actually watching it, the voice actresses finish their doujinshi and sell it to some creepy fan boys.  They get the tv and the PS3.  You’re welcome.  The live action segments are TERRIBLE.  The anime was cute, though, despite the power of friendship ending.  At least the heroine didn’t have any magical powers.  She still ended up not being able to draw.  I rated this 6/10 on MAL.

 

Ristorante Paradiso – Episodes 1-4 Ristorante Paradiso Cover

I watched one episode of this anime years ago, declared it boring, and decided that I didn’t have to watch any other episodes.  Then I got onto this reverse harem kick.  And while, technically, this anime is not a reverse harem at all, I bought it anyway when Right Stuf had their Nozomi sale.  Hey, I can’t turn down a gift with purchase, no matter how hideous the art style is.  Speaking of, the female characters are just ugly.  There is no saving them.  The male ones…well…they’re old.  “Distinguished.”  Gentlemen.  They look nicer.  The main premise is that this college girl goes to Italy to look for her mother and call her out for marrying a man who is not her father, and oops, he doesn’t know she even has a daughter.  He owns this restaurant where the entire staff is made up of gentlemen who wear glasses, and while she almost outs her mom straight off, she stays silent for awhile because of how charming the waiters are at this restaurant.  Seriously.  The college girl even ends up falling for one of them, who is as old as her real dad.  Yikes.  It’s a slice of life anime that is very calming, but not calming in the shitty way like Aria the Natural (yep, still hate it).  I’m interested to see whether or not she will ever call out her mom in front of her step-dad or if she’ll ever make Claudio fall in love with her.  Slice of life with a plot?  Who would have thought??  It’s just hard to watch more than a couple episodes in one sitting since it will put you to sleep.

Rose of Versailles – Episode 23 Rose of Versailles Cover

In an attempt to show my mother what I spend a ton of money on, I tried making her watch an episode of Rose of Versailles.  She’s a French teacher.  She’s all about Marie Antoinette.  Unfortunately, it was met with eye rolls from her before she fell right asleep, so see if I do anything nice for her ever again.  It wasn’t a boring episode, though.  That one evil chick finally got what was coming to her and got branded.  BITCH WENT DOWN.  But everyone still hates Marie because they’re jealous, obviously.  Not everyone can be as awesome as her.  They also brand her and Oscar as lesbians.  This can’t be good.  I swear, if they lynch Oscar, too, I’m going to be pissed with this whole show.

 

 

Akuma no Riddle – Episode 12 (Completed!) Akuma no Riddle Cover

God.  This ending.  THIS ENDING.  I can’t decide if I am mad at it or not.  Let’s be real, I love happy endings.  I love where all the characters get resolved and you see what happened to each of them in the future.  I just don’t know how this one would be even possible.  Last week, we found out Haru had this thing called a Primer power where she could make people do whatever she wanted.  Okay.  So, then Tokaku was supposedly about to stab her.  Turns out that wasn’t really Tokaku, but Nio disguised as her.  Tokaku is still in Camp Haru, no worries.  So Tokaku kills Nio.  And then Haru RUNS AT TOKAKU WITH A KNIFE.  WHAT???  Why???  This is the part I don’t understand.  Why would she try and kill someone who has protected her this whole time?  And then, (and here comes the worst part) TOKAKU STABS HARU.  SHE STABS THAT BITCH IN THE HEART.  WHY?  There is no reason for this.  They try to explain it with some bullshit, but honestly, I don’t understand the reasoning.  Can someone please tell me why Tokaku would kill Haru?  And then she immediately regrets it because when she was asked what her wish was, she said no one could grant it.  Commercial break.  Haru is alive.  Alive.  Bitch had titanium ribs (what?!) and survived getting stabbed so she graduates from Class Black.  They flash through all the assassins who are also still alive (how???) and end with Tokaku picking her up from graduation and they walk off together.  The end.  I can come up with two semi-plausible explanations for the ending: #1 – Tokaku’s wish was that Haru would graduate from Class Black, basically pulling a Madoka Magica where nobody dies and shit goes back to normal… or #2 – Haru used her Primer power to force herself to live, and then used it on everyone else to make sure they were all alive, as well.  Either way, the ending was a cop out.  I just want to know why Tokaku would stab Haru in the first place.  Still my favorite show of the season, I rated this 7/10 on MAL.  Yes, a point got taken off for the ending.  Duh.

Naruto – Episodes 149-151 Naruto cover

STUPID BUG ARC.  More Byakugans than I could shake a stick at.  Completely glad it’s over.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am currently watching 241 anime and have completed 29 shows this year.  Making an effort people, making an effort.  I guess I’ll take this time to tell you I’ll be covering each episode of Sailor Moon Crystal from the summer season.  I haven’t had a chance to look at the chart, so I’ll leave that for next week, but from the videos I’ve seen, there are a good handful of shows I’d like to check out.  I can’t believe how quickly this season has gone.  Insanity.

Leave a Reply

